Judith 5x2

Judith Kasiama

Discipline: Outdoor Nation Ambassador

Hometown
Kinshasa, DR Congo
Resides
Vancouver, BC

Like most Vancouverites, Judith enjoys nature. Her love of nature stems from growing up in the Democratic Republic of Congo and having the freedom to walk through thick Congo jungles, swim in the Congo River, or just enjoy the epic rainstorms.

Since moving to Canada 8 years ago as a refugee, she’s discovered hiking in the local mountains, and bringing friends along who’ve never hiked before to coach and encourage them along the way. “As a woman of colour,” Judith says, “I’ve sometimes felt very alone, when many people of colour enjoy the outdoors. Nature is beautiful in the sense that it doesn’t discriminate.”

When she’s not hiking, running or spending time with friends, she likes to travel and learn about the diverse cultures the world has to offer. She also strongly believes outdoor lifestyles should be accessible to everyone.

“I’m excited to be an MEC Outdoor Nation Ambassador, and to change stereotypes about who has access to outdoor activities. I’m an ordinary person who enjoys nature and getting out and moving!”

5x2

Judith Kasiama

Discipline : Ambassadrice Génération plein air MEC

Vient de
Kinshasa, République démocratique du Congo
Habite à
Vancouver, C.-B.

Comme la plupart des Vancouvérois, Judith adore la nature. Son amour des grands espaces remonte à son enfance dans la République démocratique du Congo où elle avait la liberté de marcher dans l’épaisse jungle congolaise, de se baigner dans le fleuve Congo ou de simplement admirer les orages spectaculaires.

Depuis qu’elle est déménagée au Canada à titre de réfugiée il y a 8 ans, Judith a découvert la randonnée dans les montagnes de la région et le plaisir d’encourager des amis qui n’ont jamais fait de rando à l’accompagner. « En tant que femme de couleur, je me sens parfois très seule, même si je sais que de nombreuses personnes de couleur profitent aussi du plein air. La nature est magnifique en ce sens qu’elle ne fait pas de discrimination », explique Judith.

Quand elle n’est pas en randonnée, ne court pas ou n’est pas avec ses amis, elle aime voyager et apprendre sur les différentes cultures du monde. De plus, elle croit fermement que le plein air devrait être accessible à tous.

« Je suis heureuse d’être ambassadrice de Génération plein air MEC et de contribuer à briser les stéréotypes sur les gens qui pratiquent des activités de plein air. Je suis une femme ordinaire qui aime bouger dans la nature ! »