TarynAvatarGrove 5x2

Taryn Eyton

Discipline: Leave No Trace Ambassador

Hometown
Vancouver, BC
Resides
Vancouver, BC

Taryn will tell you that her home is in Vancouver, but her heart is in the mountains.

As a volunteer trainer with Leave No Trace Canada, Taryn leads workshops to educate hikers about how we can all minimize our impact on the environment when we spend time outdoors. She is passionate about protecting the wilderness and ensuring both new and experienced users have the knowledge to do the same.

Taryn loves exploring wild places and tries to get outside as much as possible. You can find her hiking in Vancouver’s North Shore mountains on weeknights, backpacking in southwestern BC on weekends, heading overseas to go trekking on vacations, and sharing her adventure and Leave No Trace tips online whenever she has internet access.

“Everyone makes mistakes when they’re first learning how to travel responsibly in the outdoors. (I still cringe when I remember some of mine.) But each mistake is a learning opportunity, and a chance to find out how to treat the wilderness better next time.”

TarynAvatarGrove 5x2

Taryn Eyton

Discipline : Ambassadrice du Sans Trace

Vient de
Vancouver, C.-B.
Habite à
Vancouver, C.-B.

Taryn vit à Vancouver, mais son cœur se trouve dans les montagnes.

À titre de formatrice bénévole de Sans Trace Canada, elle anime des ateliers visant à renseigner les randonneurs sur la façon dont nous pouvons tous réduire impact environnemental quand nous sommes en plein air. Taryn voue une passion à la protection des milieux sauvages et à la transmission de ses connaissances aux adeptes de plein air néophytes et chevronnés.

Elle adore explorer la nature et essaie d’y passer le plus de temps possible. Taryn fait souvent de la randonnée dans les montagnes du North Shore de Vancouver les soirs de semaine, de longues randonnées dans le sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique les week-ends et du trekking à l’étranger durant ses vacances, et elle partage ses aventures et des conseils sur le Sans Trace en ligne lorsqu’elle a accès à Internet.

« Nous faisons tous des erreurs lorsque nous apprenons à pratiquer des activités de plein air de façon responsable. (Et je grince toujours des dents lorsque je me rappelle certaines de mes propres erreurs.) Mais chaque erreur est une occasion d’apprentissage et une chance de découvrir comment nous pouvons faire mieux la prochaine fois. »