Annual general meeting

COVID-19 has had an unprecedented impact on the business community, and traditional retail is among the hardest-hit industries – especially considering it is an industry which had its challenges pre-COVID.

In compliance with the instructions of local health authorities, Mountain Equipment Co-op has been forced to close brick and mortar stores, impacting employees and members, alike. These extraordinary circumstances have had a profound impact on the co-op’s revenues.

Recognizing the effect of COVID-19 and the all-consuming nature of the pandemic, the Registrar in British Columbia has decided that all co-operatives in the province may postpone their AGMs for a period of six months. As the most prudent course of action in light of the persistent state of uncertainty, MEC has made the difficult decision to postpone its AGM.

As COVID-19 has flipped the operations of the business on its head, the decision to delay the AGM was the right one. MEC followed in the footsteps of other co-operatives in delaying their AGM to focus on the acute, urgent and time sensitive challenges stemming from the pandemic. Delaying the release of the board of directors’ election results until there was clarity around the AGM was necessary to allow all new eligible members to cast votes in accordance with MEC’s Rules of Co-operation.

MEC is committed to holding a virtual AGM on December 10, 2020, and the board of directors’ election results will be released at the AGM. When COVID-19 necessitated delaying our AGM, we reviewed our Rules of Cooperation to ensure that the delay would not affect the integrity of the election process. Under Rule 12.02, every member who became a member 16 weeks or more before the next annual general meeting is eligible to vote in the current election of directors. As a result of the new AGM date, individuals who purchased a membership between March 3 and August 20, 2020 are eligible to take part. These votes will be added to the current results, which remain untallied and are held confidentially, in trust by a third-party.

MEC’s members are the bedrock of MEC’s success, and MEC’s accountability to its members is unwavering.

Question and Answer

1. Why did MEC delay the annual AGM?

MEC, like other co-operatives, delayed our AGM in order to focus on our mission, ensuring our members access to outdoor gear, know-how and inspiration, while dealing with the acute challenges stemming from COVID-19. The Registrar in British Columbia made the extraordinary decision to allow for co-operatives’ AGMs across the province to be delayed.

2. Why have you not yet released the results of the board of directors’ election?

Voting and ensuing election results are fundamentally linked to the AGM under the Rules of Cooperation. Delaying the counting of votes is necessary to allow individuals who purchased a membership between March 3, 2020 and August 20, 2020 to cast their ballots before the results are released. Under Rule 12.02, every member who became a member 16 weeks or more before the next annual general meeting is eligible to vote in the current election of directors. Announcement of the election results is made by the auditors at the AGM, which has been delayed. (Rule 14.06).

3. Has MEC rescheduled its annual general meeting? If so, for when?

The current plan is to host a virtual AGM on December 10, 2020. This scheduling gives us adequate time to plan an AGM in compliance with MEC’s Rules of Co-operation while adhering to requirements set by the Registrar in British Columbia. MEC’s decision was made with the best interests of our members and employees in mind, and in keeping with good governance practices.

4. When will the results of the 2020 board of directors’ election be released?

The results of the 2020 board of directors’ election will be released at the AGM on December 10, 2020 in accordance with MEC Rule 14.06 whereby the election auditor must announce the result of the election, including the number of votes received by each candidate, at the annual general meeting. New MEC members who purchased a membership between March 3, 2020 and August 20, 2020, will be eligible to cast their vote in a period to be determined prior to the postponed AGM. These votes will be added to the current results, which remain untallied and are held confidentially, in trust.

5. Has this been a fair process for your members?

Yes, it has. MEC continues to be accountable to the more than 5 million members of the Mountain Equipment Co-op community. MEC’s members are the bedrock of MEC’s success, and every decision has been made with the best interests of our members, employees, and community in mind.

6. Why have you not yet released the financials which were supposed to be made public at the AGM?

COVID-19 had an unprecedented impact on the business community and has forced us to adjust nearly every aspect of our day-to-day operations in a very short period of time. Our focus has remained steadfast on the acute, urgent and time sensitive challenges stemming from the pandemic. We are working with our independent auditor to finalize our financials and commit to posting results prior to our postponed AGM, as has been our practice in recent years.

Updated June 12, 2020

Assemblée générale annuelle

La COVID-19 a des conséquences sans précédent sur la communauté des affaires, et le commerce de détail traditionnel est parmi les secteurs les plus durement touchés, d’autant plus qu’il était déjà confronté à de nombreux défis avant la pandémie.

Conformément aux directives des autorités sanitaires locales, Mountain Equipment Co-op a été contrainte de fermer ses magasins, ce qui a eu une incidence sur son personnel et ses membres. Ces circonstances extraordinaires affectent profondément les revenus de la coopérative.

En raison des conséquences de la COVID-19 et de l’ampleur de la pandémie, le registraire de la Colombie-Britannique permet à toutes les coopératives de la province de reporter leur assemblée générale annuelle pour une période maximale de six mois. Compte tenu de l’incertitude qui perdure, MEC a suivi la ligne de conduite la plus prudente et a pris la décision difficile de reporter son AGA.

La COVID-19 chamboule toutes les activités de l’entreprise et la décision de retarder l’AGA est la bonne. Ainsi, MEC a emboîté le pas à d’autres coopératives en reportant son AGA pour se concentrer sur les défis majeurs et urgents qui découlent de la pandémie. Il était aussi nécessaire de retarder la divulgation des résultats des élections au conseil d’administration jusqu’à ce que la date de l’assemblée générale soit fixée, afin de permettre aux membres nouvellement admissibles de voter conformément au Règlement de MEC.

Donc, MEC s’est engagée à tenir son AGA virtuellement le 10 décembre 2020. Les résultats des élections au conseil d’administration seront annoncés à cette date. Devant la nécessité de repousser notre AGA en raison de la COVID-19, nous avons passé en revue le Règlement de MEC pour nous assurer que ce report ne nuirait pas à l’intégrité de notre processus d’élections. En vertu de l’article 12.02, toute personne qui est devenue membre 16 semaines ou plus avant la tenue d’une assemblée générale annuelle a droit de vote pour les élections des administrateurs et administratrices. Donc, en raison de la nouvelle date de l’AGA, les personnes qui ont acheté une part sociale entre le 3 mars et le 20 août 2020 peuvent maintenant voter aux élections. Ces votes seront ajoutés aux votes actuels, qui n’ont pas encore été comptabilisés et qui sont conservés de manière confidentielle par un tiers, en fiducie.

Le succès de MEC repose sur ses membres, et la responsabilité de la coopérative envers ceux-ci et celles-ci est absolue.

Questions et réponses

1. Pourquoi MEC reporte-t-elle son AGA?

MEC, comme d’autres coopératives, reporte son AGA afin de se concentrer sur sa mission, proposer aux membres de l’équipement, des conseils et de l’inspiration pour leurs activités de plein air, en plus de relever les difficultés majeures découlant de la COVID-19. Le registraire de la Colombie-Britannique a pris la décision extraordinaire de permettre aux coopératives de la province de reporter leur AGA.

2. Pourquoi n’avez-vous pas encore annoncé les résultats des élections au conseil d’administration?

Le vote aux élections et les résultats sont fondamentalement liés à l’AGA en vertu du Règlement de MEC. Il est nécessaire de retarder le décompte des votes pour permettre aux personnes qui auront acheté une adhésion pendant la période du 3 mars 2020 au 20 août 2020 de voter avant l’annonce des résultats. En vertu de l’article 12.02, toute personne qui est devenue membre 16 semaines ou plus avant la tenue d’une assemblée générale annuelle a droit de vote pour les élections des administrateurs et administratrices. Les résultats des élections sont annoncés par le ou la vérificateur·rice lors de l’AGA, laquelle a été reportée.

3. MEC a-t-elle fixé une nouvelle date pour son assemblée générale annuelle? Si oui, quand aura-t-elle lieu?

Le plan actuel est de tenir une AGA virtuelle le 10 décembre 2020. Ce calendrier nous donne suffisamment de temps pour planifier une AGA conformément au Règlement de MEC tout en respectant les exigences posées par le registraire de la Colombie-Britannique. La décision de MEC a été prise dans l’intérêt fondamental des membres et du personnel, et en vertu des pratiques de bonne gouvernance.

4. Quand les résultats des élections au conseil d’administration de 2020 seront-ils annoncés?

Les résultats des élections au conseil d’administration de 2020 seront annoncés lors de l’AGA du 10 décembre 2020 en vertu de l’article 14.06 du Règlement de MEC, stipulant que le vérificateur ou la vérificatrice de l’élection doit annoncer le résultat de l’élection, y compris le nombre de voix obtenues par chaque candidat·e, à l’assemblée générale annuelle. Les nouveaux et nouvelles membres de MEC qui auront acheté une adhésion entre le 3 mars 2020 et le 20 août 2020 pourront voter au cours d’une période à déterminer, avant la tenue de l’AGA reportée. Ces votes seront ajoutés aux votes actuels, qui n’ont pas encore été comptabilisés et qui sont conservés de manière confidentielle, en fiducie.

5. Cette procédure est-elle équitable pour les membres?

Oui, elle l’est. MEC continue à rendre des comptes aux 5 millions de membres et plus qui composent sa communauté. Le succès de MEC repose sur ses membres, et chaque décision est prise dans l’intérêt fondamental de ceux-ci et celles-ci, du personnel et de la communauté.

6. Pourquoi n’avez-vous pas encore rendu public le bilan financier qui devait être rendu public lors de l’AGA?

La COVID-19 a des conséquences sans précédent sur la communauté des affaires, et nous a contraint·e·s à adapter la plupart de nos activités quotidiennes en très peu de temps. Nous continuons à nous concentrer sur les défis majeurs et urgents qui découlent de la pandémie. Nous travaillons avec notre vérificateur·rice indépendant·e pour finaliser nos états financiers, et nous nous engageons à publier les résultats avant la tenue de notre AGA reportée, comme nous l’avons fait ces dernières années.

Mis à jour le 12 juin 2020