Untitled design

The Royal Canadian Geographical Society

The Royal Canadian Geographical Society has been making Canada better known to Canadians and to the world for more than 90 years. The Society’s vision is to help Canadians foster a greater understanding of Canada’s geography – including the diverse human and physical landscapes – as well as the changes affecting its people and the environment. 


Best known for its Canadian Geographic magazine, the Society also supports the outdoor community with expedition grants and scholarships for cutting-edge geographical research. MEC provides funding that supports all the Society’s expedition grants, including the Women’s Expedition and the Indigenous Expedition grants, as well as the Expedition of the Year.

Members of Society-funded expeditions have carried the RCGS Compass Rose flag everywhere from the heights of Yukon’s Mount Logan to the still-unknown depths of B.C.’s Bisaro Anima cave. MEC has been the official expedition outfitter since 2018, and we’re looking forwarding to seeing our gear show up in many more of the country’s wildest places.

We’re thrilled to have MEC working with us as we fulfill our mission to connect people with the natural and cultural heritage of Canada,” – John Geiger, CEO of the RCGS

Untitled design

La société géographique royale du Canada

La Société géographique royale du Canada permet aux Canadien·ne·s et au monde entier de mieux connaître le Canada depuis plus de 90 ans. La vision de la Société est d’aider les gens à mieux comprendre la géographie du Canada, y compris la diversité des paysages humains et physiques, ainsi que les changements qui ont une incidence sur la population et l’environnement. 


Généralement reconnue pour son magazine Canadian Geographic, elle soutient également la communauté du plein air par l’offre de subventions d’expéditions et de bourses d’études appuyant des projets de recherches géographiques de pointe. MEC participe au financement de toutes les subventions d’expéditions proposées par la Société, y compris ses programmes de soutien aux expéditions pour les femmes et les Autochtones, ainsi que du programme d’expédition de l’année.  

Les membres des expéditions subventionnées par la Société ont hissé son drapeau orné d’une rose des vents aux quatre coins du pays, sur les hauteurs du mont Logan au Yukon comme dans les profondeurs de la caverne Bisaro Anima en Colombie-Britannique. MEC est le fournisseur officiel du matériel d’expédition de la Société depuis 2018 et se réjouit à l’idée de voir son équipement contribuer à l’exploration de nombreux endroits sauvages au pays. 

« Nous sommes ravi·e·s de bénéficier du soutien de MEC pour réaliser notre mission, qui consiste à aider les gens à découvrir le patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada. » – John Geiger, chef de la direction de la Société