The Push

5062-008
Press to open modal with high resolution version of current image

The Push

5062-008
  • Available prices $20.00
Free shipping on orders over $50
Free in-store pickup
MEC

Rocksolid Guarantee

Shop with confidence. If it's not working out like you expected, you can return it.

Really. If it's not up to snuff after you use it (a couple times) you can still bring it back.

It lasts longer than 30 days, but not forever. We'll be fair about it. We're all members here.

Price match guarantee

Find a lower price within 30 days? We’ll match it.

If you see a lower price for this exact item advertised online, in print or in a store, give us a call at 1 (888) 847-0770.

If it’s identical, brand-new, in stock, and sold and shipped by a Canadian-based retailer, we’ll match that price.

Description

Show Description

On January 14, 2015, Tommy Caldwell, along with his partner, Kevin Jorgeson, summited what is widely regarded as the hardest climb in history – Yosemite’s nearly vertical 3,000-foot Dawn Wall, after 19 days on the route. Caldwell’s odds-defying feat was the culmination of an entire lifetime of pushing himself to his limits as an athlete.

This engrossing memoir chronicles the journey of a boy with a fanatical mountain-guide father who was determined to instill toughness in his son, to a teen whose obsessive nature drove him to the top of the sport-climbing circuit. Caldwell’s affinity for adventure then led him to the vertigo-inducing and little understood world of big wall free climbing. But his evolution as a climber was not without challenges; in his early twenties, he was held hostage by militants in a harrowing ordeal in the mountains of Kyrgyzstan. Soon after, he lost his left index finger in an accident. Later, his wife, and main climbing partner, left him. Caldwell emerged from these hardships with a renewed sense of purpose and determination. He set his sights on free climbing El Capitan’s biggest, steepest, blankest face – the Dawn Wall. This epic assault took more than seven years, during which time Caldwell redefined the sport, found love again, and became a father.

The Push is an arresting story of focus, drive, motivation, endurance and transformation, a book that will appeal to anyone seeking to overcome fear and doubt, cultivate perseverance, turn failure into growth, and find connection with family and with the natural world.

Tech specs

Show Tech specs
Ideal for Climbing
Author Tommy Caldwell
Language English
Pages 352
Published 2018
ISBN 9780399562716
Made in USA

The Push 5062-008

The Push

5062-008
  • Fourchette de prix : 20,00 $
MEC

Garantie de pointe

Magasinez avec confiance. Si l'article acheté ne répond pas à vos attentes, vous pouvez le retourner.

Ce n'est pas à la hauteur (même après quelques essais) ? Notre garantie dure plus de 30 jours, mais elle n'est pas infinie. Nous serons compréhensifs. Après tout, nous sommes tous des membres.

Garantie du meilleur prix

Vous avez trouvé un meilleur prix dans les 30 jours suivant votre achat ? Nous l’égalerons.

Si vous trouvez un article identique annoncé à un prix inférieur en ligne, dans un magasin ou dans une publicité imprimée, téléphonez au 1 (888) 847-0770.

S’il est identique, neuf, en stock, et vendu et expédié du Canada par un détaillant canadien, nous égalerons le prix.

Description

Afficher Description

Le 14 janvier 2015, Tommy Caldwell, avec son partenaire Kevin Jorgeson, a réalisé l’ascension considérée par plusieurs comme la plus difficile de l’histoire – la paroi quasi-verticale Dawn Wall, dans le parc Yosemite, d’une hauteur de 3000 pieds (915 m), en 19 jours. Son exploit, qui a confondu les sceptiques, était l’aboutissement d’une vie entière consacrée à repousser ses limites en tant qu’athlète.

Ce texte fascinant relate le parcours d'un jeune homme dont le père, un guide de montagne fanatique, est déterminé à endurcir son fils. Adolescent, Tommy Caldwell, mu de sa nature obsessive, se hisse au sommet du circuit d’escalade sportive. Son intérêt marqué pour l’aventure le mène ensuite dans le monde vertigineux et parfois incompris de l’escalade libre de big walls. Mais cette évolution en tant que grimpeur ne se fait pas sans défi. Au début de la vingtaine, il vit l’enfer alors qu'il se fait prendre en otage par des militants dans les montagnes du Kirghizistan. Peu après, il perd son index gauche dans un accident. Plus tard, sa conjointe, et principale partenaire d’escalade, met fin à leur relation. Ces difficultés lui permettent de rediriger ses objectifs, en plus d’alimenter sa détermination. Il se concentre alors sur un but précis : grimper en escalade libre le Dawn Wall, la paroi la plus longue, la plus abrupte et la plus difficile d’El Capitan. Il lui a fallu plus de sept ans pour réaliser son exploit mémorable, années durant lesquelles Tommy a redéfini le sport, retrouvé l’amour et découvert la paternité.

The Push est un récit fondé sur la détermination, la motivation, l’endurance et la transformation, qui plaira à tous ceux qui cherchent à surmonter la peur et le doute, à cultiver leur persévérance, à transformer un échec en possibilité de croissance et à établir une connexion avec leur famille et le monde naturel. (En anglais seulement)

Caractéristiques techniques

Afficher Caractéristiques techniques
Idéal pour escalade
Auteur Tommy Caldwell
Langue anglais
Pages 352
publié 2018
ISBN 9780399562716
Fabrication États-Unis