Accessible member service

Comments about our service are welcomed and appreciated. Members may provide feedback or complaints in person to a store’s senior managers. If store management is unable to rectify a member’s concern, the member can provide feedback in writing, by e-mail, by phone or fax, or by regular post to, by using the this fillable feedback form:

If you prefer, you can also direct any communications to our Head Office though the following channels:

Mountain Equipment Co-op
Attn: Manager, Policy and Employee Relations
1077 Great Northern Way
Vancouver, BC V5T 1E1

Phone: 604.707.3300 or Fax: 604.731.3826
Email: accessibility@mec.ca

Feedback

MEC will respond or follow up within 30 days, unless there are circumstances that prevent such response time. If a response is delayed, the person providing the feedback or making a complaint will be apprised of the delay. Feedback and/or responses will be delivered in a format that is accessible to the complainant.

Format of documents

If MEC is required to provide a copy of any document available under the Accessibility Standards for Customer Service to a person with a disability, MEC will provide the documents, or the information contained within the document, in a format that takes into account the person’s disability.

Policy summary

MEC’s Accessible Member Service Policy governs how we provides goods and services to members in accordance with the requirements of the Accessibility Standards for Customer Service, Ontario Regulation 429/07 of the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005 (AODA) and the core principles of independence, dignity, integration and equality of opportunity.

The term disability as defined by the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005, and the Ontario Human Rights Code, refers to:

  • any degree of physical disability, infirmity, malformation or disfigurement that is caused by bodily injury, birth defect or illness and, without limiting the generality of the foregoing, includes diabetes mellitus, epilepsy, a brain injury, any degree of paralysis, amputation, lack of physical co-ordination, blindness or visual impediment, deafness or hearing impediment, muteness or speech impediment, or physical reliance on a guide dog or other animal or on a wheelchair or other remedial appliance or device;
  • a condition of mental impairment or a developmental disability;
  • a learning disability, or dysfunction in one or more of the processes involved in understanding or using symbols or spoken language;
  • a mental disorder; or
  • an injury or disability for which benefits were claimed or received under the insurance plan established under the Workplace Safety and Insurance Act, 1997.

Communication and notice of temporary disruption

MEC will communicate with people with disabilities in ways that take into account their disability. In the event of a planned or unexpected disruption to service or facilities for members with disabilities MEC will notify members promptly. The notice will include information about the reason for the disruption, its anticipated length of time, and a description of alternative facilities or services, if available.

Use of assistive devices

We recognize that some persons with disabilities may use assistive devices while accessing our stores and events. Persons with disabilities have the right to use their own assistive devices at all times, to obtain, use or benefit from MEC’s goods and services.

Use of service animals and support persons

Support persons and service animals are welcome to accompany our disabled members while shopping in our stores. All required store employees will receive training on how to interact with individuals requiring support persons and/or service animals.

Training for staff

MEC will provide training to employees, volunteers, contractors and/or consultants who deal with the public or other third parties on our behalf and all those who are involved in the development and approvals of member service policies, practices, and procedures. Training will be ongoing as long as there are changes to policies, procedures, and practices governing the provision of goods and service to person with disabilities. Training will embrace the core principles of ongoing respect for human dignity, independence, integration, and equity of opportunity.

Training will be provided as soon as practicable after an individual assumes responsibilities related to the public and will include the following:

  1. An overview of the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005 and the requirements of the Customer Service Standard.
  2. Information regarding Mountain Equipment Co-op’s policies, practices, and procedures relating to the Customer Service Standards.
  3. How to interact and communicate with people with various types of disabilities.
  4. How to interact with people with disabilities who use an assistive devise or require the assistance of a service animal or a support person.
  5. What to do if a person with a particular type of disability is having difficulty accessing our goods or services.

MEC will keep a record of training that includes dates training was provided and the names and number of individuals to whom it was provided.

Integrated accessibility standards regulations (IARS)

A third set of regulations enacted under the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act (AODA), it establishes accessibility standards to remove barriers in the following three areas: Information and Communications, Employment and Transportation (this standard does not apply to MEC).

MEC will establish, implement, maintain and document a multi-year accessibility plan outlining its strategy to prevent and remove barriers and meet its requirements under the IASR.

If MEC is required to provide a copy of any document available under the IASR to a person with a disability, MEC will provide the documents, or the information contained within the document, in a format that takes into account the person’s disability.

MEC’S statement of organizational commitment

MEC is committed and guided by the four principles of dignity, independence, integration, and equal opportunity as set out in the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, and the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005. MEC will meet the accessibility needs of persons with disabilities in a timely manner.

MEC is committed to establishing, maintaining and implementing policies as well as associated practices and procedures in the IASR, specifically in the areas of information and communications and employment. MEC will review and update the multi-year plan at least once every five (5) years.

Accessibilité pour le service aux membres

Les commentaires portant sur le service aux membres sont très importants pour nous. Les membres peuvent adresser leurs commentaires ou leurs plaintes directement au directeur ou à la directrice du magasin. Si l’équipe de direction n’est pas en mesure de corriger la situation, le membre peut nous courrieller, nous appeler, nous envoyer une télécopie ou nous poster une lettre à, en utilisant le formulaire électronique de rétroaction :

Si vous préférez, vous pouvez transmettre vos commentaires à notre siège social par l’un des modes d’acheminement suivants :

Mountain Equipment Co-op
a/s de : Responsable des politiques et des relations avec les employés
1077, rue Great Northern Way
Vancouver (C.-B.) V5T 1E1

Téléphone : 604-707-3300, télécopieur : 604.731.3826
Courriel : accessibility@mec.ca

Rétroaction

Mountain Equipement Co-op assurera le suivi dans les trente jours, à moins que des circonstances exceptionnelles ne permettent un tel délai. Si une réponse ne peut être donnée dans les délais prévus, la personne qui a fait le commentaire ou la plainte doit en être informée. Les réponses seront fournies dans un format accessible à l’auteur de la plainte ou du commentaire.

Format des documents

Si une personne handicapée fait la demande de l’un des documents se rapportant aux Normes d’accessibilité pour les services à la clientèle, MEC devra fournir les documents ou les renseignements qu’ils contiennent dans un format qui tient compte du handicap de la personne.

Sommaire de la politique

La politique d’accessibilité pour le service aux membres régit la façon dont MEC fournit des biens et des services à ses membres conformément aux exigences des Normes d’accessibilité pour les services à la clientèle, Règlement de l’Ontario 429/07, adoptées en vertu de la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario et des principes fondamentaux de l’indépendance, de la dignité, de l’intégration et de l’égalité des chances.

Le terme handicap, tel que défini par la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario et le Code des droits de la personne de l’Ontario, s’applique à :

  • Tout degré d’incapacité physique, d’infirmité, de malformation ou de défigurement dû à une lésion corporelle, à une anomalie congénitale ou à une maladie, et, notamment, le diabète sucré, l’épilepsie, un traumatisme crânien, tout degré de paralysie, une amputation, l’incoordination motrice, la cécité ou une déficience visuelle, la surdité ou une déficience auditive, la mutité ou un trouble de la parole, ou la nécessité de recourir à un chien-guide ou à un autre animal, à un fauteuil roulant ou à un autre appareil ou dispositif correctif
  • Une déficience intellectuelle ou un trouble du développement
  • Une difficulté d’apprentissage ou un dysfonctionnement d’un ou de plusieurs des processus de la compréhension ou de l’utilisation de symboles ou de la langue parlée
  • Un trouble mental
  • Une lésion ou une invalidité pour lesquelles des prestations ont été demandées ou reçues dans le cadre du régime d’assurance créé aux termes de la Loi de 1997 sur la sécurité professionnelle et l’assurance contre les accidents du travail.

La communication et avis d’interruption de service

MEC communiquera avec les personnes handicapées en utilisant des moyens adaptés à leurs besoins particuliers. Dans le cas d’une interruption planifiée ou imprévue d’un service qu’utilisent les membres handicapés, MEC émettra un avis dès que possible. L’avis devra comprendre la raison de l’interruption de service, la durée prévue de l’interruption et une description des services de rechange, le cas échéant.

Utilisation d’appareils fonctionnels

Mountain Equipment Co-op reconnait que certaines personnes handicapées peuvent recourir à des appareils fonctionnels pour accéder aux biens et services dans nos magasins et à nos événements. Les personnes handicapées peuvent utiliser leur propre accessoire fonctionnel en tout temps pour obtenir ou utiliser des biens ou des services de Mountain Equipment Co-op, ou en tirer profit.

Animaux d’assistance et personne de soutien

Les personnes handicapées qui sont accompagnées d’une personne de soutien ou d’un animal d’assistance sont également les bienvenus dans nos magasins. Tous les employés qui traitent avec le public recevront une formation sur la façon d’interagir avec les personnes handicapées accompagnées d’une personne de soutien ou d’un animal d’assistance.

Formation des employés

Mountain Equipment Co-op dispensera une formation aux employés, bénévoles ou agents contractuels qui traitent avec le public ou avec des tiers qui agissent pour le compte de MEC ainsi qu’aux personnes qui participent à l’élaboration et à l’approbation des politiques, des pratiques et des procédures. La formation sera donnée sur une base continue lorsque des modifications seront apportées aux politiques, pratiques et procédures régissant la prestation de biens et de services aux personnes handicapées. La formation s’inscrit dans le cadre des principes fondamentaux du respect de la dignité humaine, de l’indépendance, de l’intégration et de l’égalité des chances.

La formation sera donnée dès que possible après que la personne est embauchée et portera sur les éléments suivants :

  1. L’objet de la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario et les exigences liées à la Norme d’accessibilité pour les services à la clientèle
  2. Les politiques, pratiques et procédures de Mountain Equipment Co-op relatives aux Normes d’accessibilité pour les services à la clientèle de la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario
  3. Des directives quant à la façon d’interagir et de communiquer avec les personnes ayant divers types de handicap
  4. Des directives quant à la façon d’interagir avec les personnes handicapées qui utilisent des appareils fonctionnels, un animal d’assistance ou une personne de soutien
  5. Des directrices sur les mesures à prendre si une personne handicapée éprouve de la difficulté à avoir accès à nos biens et services

MEC tiendra un registre des formations comprenant les dates de formation, le nombre de participants à chacune et leur nom.

Règlement sur les normes d’accessibilité intégrées

Le règlement sur les Normes d’accessibilité intégrées (RNAI), le troisième ensemble de règlements en vertu de la Loi sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario (LAPHO), vise à établir des normes d’accessibilité afin d’éliminer les obstacles au sein des secteurs suivants : Information et communications, emploi et transport (les normes de ce secteur ne s’appliquent pas à MEC).

MEC établira, maintiendra et documentera un plan d’accessibilité pluriannuel indiquant sa stratégie en vue de prévenir et d’éliminer les obstacles pour les personnes handicapées et de répondre aux exigences du règlement sur les Normes d’accessibilité intégrées.

Si une personne handicapée fait la demande d’une copie de tout document se rapportant au règlement sur les Normes d’accessibilité intégrées, MEC devra fournir les documents ou les renseignements qu’il contient dans un format qui tient compte du handicap de la personne.

Énoncé d’engagement organisationnel de MEC

MEC s’engage à respecter et à se laisser guider par les quatre principes suivants : la dignité, l’indépendance, l’intégration et l’égalité des chances, tels qu’énoncés dans la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et dans la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario. MEC répondra aux besoins des personnes handicapées en matière d’accessibilité en temps opportun.

MEC s’engage à établir, à maintenir et à mettre sur pied des politiques ainsi que des pratiques et procédures connexes dans le cadre du règlement sur les Normes d’accessibilité intégrées, plus particulièrement dans les secteurs de l’information, des communications et de l’emploi. MEC révisera et mettra à jour le plan d’accessibilité pluriannuel au moins une fois tous les cinq (5) ans.