Large group of people waving in front of a Parkbus

Partnerships

We’re better together. The world is way bigger than our Co-op, so we work with groups across Canada to reach more people, teach more skills and find more creative ways to help everyone get active outside.

These are just a few of the many friends we connect with:

Alpine Club of Canada logo

Alpine Club of Canada

Since 1906, the Alpine Club of Canada (ACC) has been Canada’s national mountain organization. They have a lot of goals in common with MEC, and want to inspire and enable Canadians to climb, go mountaineering, and get into the alpine. The ACC has an extensive system of alpine and backcountry huts, along with regional club sections across the country to create a vibrant, active outdoor community. As an official benefactor, MEC provides the ACC with annual funding for core operations and youth programming.


ACMG logo

Association of Canadian Mountain Guides

The ACMG is committed to nurturing a culture of outdoor adventure in Canada, and give young Canadians the opportunity to safely develop skills and experience the outdoors. MEC and the ACMG run the Adventure Access Program that subsidizes ACMG guides and instructors to work with schools, clubs and other youth groups.


Avalanche Canada logo

Avalanche Canada

MEC has partnered with Avalanche Canada for a long time. Since 2001, we’ve supported Public Safety Programs and donated funds to help deliver their free Public Avalanche Bulletin. We’ve also partnered with them to provide a free avalanche forecast app, and are the presenting partner of their Avalanche Skill Training (AST) program. We send staff members for AST training, and provide space in stores for the course classroom component. Our partnership helps us provide MEC members with information and training critical to safer enjoyment of the winter backcountry.

Taking avalanche skills training? Learn about free avalanche safety package rentals through MEC.


CPAWS logo

Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society

Since 1988, Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society (CPAWS) has been one of MEC’s key partners. We work with CPAWS’ national and regional teams to help increase protection of natural spaces where we all play. MEC has supported CPAWS through national and regional initiatives that have helped develop parklands across the country. Just a few of the projects on the go include the Bighorn Country in northern Alberta, Magpie River in Quebec, South Okanagan Similkameen in BC, and Rouge National Urban Park expansion and improvement in Ontario.


Climbing Escalade Canada logo

Climbing Escalade Canada

MEC is super excited to be the founding partner of Climbing Escalade Canada (CEC). Together, we’re strengthening the capacity of the CEC as a national sports organization and developing Canadian competition climbing. The CEC is an official member of the Canadian Olympic Committee in preparation for climbing’s big debut at the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo. MEC is committed to climbing and wants to engage young athletes to excel at their sport and represent their country.


Les Chevres de Montagne logo

Chèvres de Montagne

MEC Outdoor Nation and Les Chèvres de Montagne share a commitment and passion for getting young women outside. How do they make that happen? They organize welcoming, educational and fun activities to introduce women to different outdoor events and programs, and help them develop their outdoor leadership skills.


The Lady Alliance logo

The Lady Alliance

The Lady Alliance is a non-exclusive collective of outdoor women who want to break down barriers and empower women to get outside. Their goal is to build confidence and community through adventure. MEC supports Lady Alliance camps, retreats and outdoor course programs.


Leave no trace logo

Leave No Trace Canada

The highly regarded Leave No Trace program promotes and inspires responsible outdoor recreation. MEC provided the organization’s initial seed funding and helped build their infrastructure. To strengthen their roots in Canada, we continue to support their core operations and encourage MEC staff to become Master Educators. We’re delighted to see them flourish and teach Canadians that even small changes in behavior have monumental impacts on the outdoors.


NSMBA logo

North Shore Mountain Bike Association

The North Shore Mountain Biking Association’s (NSMBA) mission is simple: Trails for All. Trails Forever. They’re a volunteer-driven non-profit organization, and are dedicated to caring for a sustainable trail network while building a truly inclusive community. Don’t be fooled by their name – they may work exclusively on the North Shore trails, but their leadership has impacts on the trail community across North America. MEC has adopted one of the most loved trails in the network, and we support the NSMBA’s Trails for All initiative.


Parkbus logo featuring the word Parkbus with a small bus image above it

parkbus

MEC partners with Parkbus to help thousands of Canadians visit national and provincial parks from major cities across Canada. From day trips and family camping weekends to wilderness expeditions, Parkbus offers accessible transportation options to help city dwellers connect with nature.


Parks Canada logo

Parks Canada

Parks Canada and MEC work together to provide a national Learn to Camp initiative. Learn to Camp aims to instill confidence in participants through sharing skills and resources, so they can camp on their own and discover the joy of camping and connecting to outdoor experiences at Parks Canada’s places.


Plein air interculturel

The Plein air interculturel program warmly welcomes newcomers to Montreal by introducing them to outdoor activities in Quebec. Specifically designed for new Canadians, it brings together people from near and far and lowers barriers to getting active outside. It’s part of the Milton Park Recreation Association, an inner city community centre and non-profit organization in Montreal.


POW Canada Logo

Protect Our Winters – Canada

Protect Our Winters (POW) Canada is our national chapter of the global non-profit POW, which is dedicated to fighting climate change on behalf of the snowsports community. POW’s mission is to turn outdoor enthusiasts into climate advocates to keep the snow in snowsports. They lead a community of athletes, creative pioneers and forward-thinking industry leaders to effect systemic policy solutions to climate change. As a founding partner of the Canadian chapter, MEC helps engage Canadians on the real threat that climate change poses to winter recreation.


Spirit North logo

Spirit North

The team behind Spirit North is committed to improving the health and well-being of Indigenous youth through the transformative power of cross-country skiing, sport and play. They work in more than 50 Indigenous communities across Alberta, BC, Saskatchewan and Manitoba, and reach more than 8,000 youth every year. MEC supplies gear and funding to support Spirit North’s after-school program and staff teams.


Imagine Canada Caring Company logo

Imagine Canada Caring Company

Your purchases help conserve the places where we play and support ways to get all of Canada active outside. As a proud member of the Imagine Canada Caring Company Program, MEC donates more than 1% of our pre-tax profits each year to the communities where we live and get outdoors.


London Benchmarking Group Canada

We’re a member of the London Benchmarking Group Canada to make sure we manage, measure and report on our social impact in the best way possible.

Since 1987, we’ve contributed more than $44 million to Canadian outdoor recreation and conservation initiatives.

Large group of people waving in front of a Parkbus

Partenariats

L’union fait la force. Le monde est bien plus vaste que notre coopérative. C’est pourquoi nous collaborons avec des groupes partout au Canada pour sensibiliser le plus de gens possible, transmettre davantage de connaissances et trouver plus de façons innovantes d’aider tout le monde à être actif en plein air.

Voici quelques-uns des nombreux partenaires et amis avec lesquels nous collaborons :

Le Club Alpine du Canada

Club Alpin du Canada

Depuis 1906, le Club alpin du Canada (CAC) est l’organisme de montagne national du pays. Il a en commun de nombreux objectifs avec MEC, notamment inspirer la population canadienne à faire de l’escalade, de l’alpinisme et d’autres activités en milieu alpin en lui donnant les moyens de le faire. À l’échelle du Canada, son vaste système de refuges en montagne et dans l’arrière-pays ainsi que ses sections régionales créent une communauté active et dynamique d’adeptes de montagne. À titre de donateur officiel, MEC verse un financement annuel au CAC afin de soutenir ses activités fondamentales et ses programmes destinés aux jeunes.


ACMG logo

Association canadienne des guides de montagne


MEC a conclu depuis longtemps un partenariat Avalanche Canada. Depuis 2001, nous soutenons ses programmes de sécurité publique et nous leur versons des dons afin de l’aider à publier le bulletin, Public Avalanche Bulletin offert gratuitement. Nous leur avons également offert notre soutien pour la création d’une application gratuite de prévisions d’avalanche et la promotion du cours de sécurité en avalanche (CSA). Nos employés participent aux séances de formation du CSA, et nous fournissons de l’espace dans nos magasins pour la présentation de la portion théorique des cours. Notre partenariat avec Avalanche Canada nous permet d’offrir à nos membres des renseignements et des formations afin qu’ils puissent profiter de leurs activités hivernales en montagne en toute sécurité.


SNAP logo

Société pour la nature et les parcs du Canada

Depuis 1988, la Société pour la nature et les parcs du Canada (SNAP) est l’un des partenaires clés de MEC. Nous collaborons avec les équipes nationales et régionales de la SNAP pour contribuer à la protection accrue des espaces naturels récréatifs. MEC soutient la SNAP par l’intermédiaire de projets nationaux et régionaux qui aident au développement des parcs à l’échelle du pays. Parmi les projets en marche, mentionnons l’arrière-pays de Bighorn dans le nord de l’Alberta, la rivière Magpie au Québec, le sud de l’Okanagan et de Similkameen en Colombie-Britannique, de même que l’expansion et l’amélioration du parc urbain national de la Rouge en Ontario.


Climbing Escalade Canada logo

Climbing Escalade Canada

MEC est très ravie d’être l’organisation partenaire fondatrice de Climbing Escalade Canada (CEC). Ensemble, nous renforçons les capacités de CEC à titre d’organisme pancanadien de sport et développons l’escalade de compétition au Canada. Le CEC est un membre officiel du Comité olympique canadien en prévision de l’introduction de cette discipline aux Jeux olympiques de Tokyo en 2020. MEC est déterminée à soutenir l’escalade et veut aider les jeunes athlètes à exceller dans leur discipline en représentant leur pays.


Les Chevres de Montagne logo

Les Chèvres de Montagne

Génération plein air MEC et Les Chèvres de Montagne partagent un engagement et une passion à inciter les jeunes femmes à passer plus de temps dehors. Comment s’y prennent-elles ? Elles organisent des activités amusantes et éducatives pour les femmes dans un environnement accueillant afin de les initier à différents programmes et événements de plein air et de les aider à développer leurs compétences de leadership en plein air.


The Lady Alliance logo

The Lady Alliance

The Lady Alliance est un regroupement non exclusif de femmes adeptes de plein air qui veut briser les barrières et encourager les femmes à jouer dehors. Son objectif est de développer la confiance des femmes et de bâtir une communauté dans un contexte d’aventure. MEC soutient les camps, les retraites et les formations en plein air de The Lady Alliance.


sans trace logo

Sans Trace Canada

L’organisme très réputé Sans Trace vise à promouvoir la pratique responsable d’activités de plein air. MEC lui a accordé le financement de démarrage pour l’aider à construire son infrastructure. Pour aider l’organisme à s’implanter davantage au Canada, nous continuons de soutenir ses activités fondamentales et nous encourageons les employés MEC à devenir des Maîtres instructeurs du Sans Trace. Nous sommes ravis de voir certains d’entre eux s’épanouir et sensibiliser les Canadiens au fait que même de petits changements de leur comportement peuvent avoir une incidence monumentale sur l’environnement.


NSMBA logo

North Shore Mountain Bike Association

La mission de la North Shore Mountain Biking Association (NSMBA) est simple : Des sentiers pour tous. Des sentiers pour toujours. C’est un organisme sans but lucratif géré par des bénévoles voué à l’entretien et à la protection d’un réseau de sentiers de vélo de montagne et à l’établissement d’une communauté résolument inclusive. Ne vous laissez pas tromper par leur nom, car même si cet organisme travaille exclusivement sur les sentiers du North Shore, leur leadership a une très grande influence sur d’autres communautés dans le même domaine partout en Amérique du Nord. MEC a adopté l’un des sentiers parmi les plus populaires du réseau et soutient la mission de la NSMBA : Des sentiers pour tous.


Parkbus logo featuring the word Parkbus with a small bus image above it

Parkbus

MEC s’associe à Parkbus pour aider des milliers de Canadiens à visiter les parcs nationaux et provinciaux à partir des grandes villes canadiennes. Que ce soit pour une escapade d’une journée, un week-end en famille ou une expédition en milieu sauvage, Parkbus offre des transports accessibles pour aider les citadins à se rapprocher de la nature.


Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada

MEC collabore avec Parcs Canada pour offrir le programme Initiation au camping. Ce dernier vise à insuffler aux participants une bonne dose de confiance en camping en leur transmettant les connaissances et les outils nécessaires afin qu’ils puissent être autonomes et découvrir la joie des espaces verts de Parcs Canada.

 


Plein air interculturel

Le programme Plein air interculturel invite chaleureusement les nouveaux arrivants à Montréal à s’initier aux activités de plein air au Québec. Spécialement conçu pour les nouveaux Canadiens, ce programme réunit des gens d’ici et d’ailleurs et réduit le nombre d’obstacles empêchant les gens d’être actifs en plein air. Le programme est chapeauté par l’Association récréative Milton Park, un organisme sans but lucratif à Montréal dont la mission est de promouvoir l’esprit communautaire.


Protect Our Winters – Canada

Protect Our Winters (POW) Canada est la division canadienne de l’organisme mondial sans but lucratif POW, qui lutte contre les changements climatiques au nom de la communauté des adeptes de sports d’hiver. La mission de POW est de faire en sorte que les passionnés de plein air deviennent d’efficaces défenseurs du climat afin de préserver nos hivers. L’organisme dirige une communauté d’athlètes, de pionniers créatifs et de leaders visionnaires de l’industrie pour trouver des solutions stratégiques systémiques aux changements climatiques. À titre de partenaire fondateur de la division canadienne, MEC contribue à sensibiliser les Canadiens aux très réels changements climatiques qui menacent les sports d’hiver.


Spirit North logo

Spirit North

L’équipe de Spirit North s’emploie à améliorer la santé et le bien-être des jeunes autochtones grâce au pouvoir bénéfique du ski de fond, des sports et du jeu. Cet organisme travaille dans plus de 50 communautés autochtones de l’Alberta, de la Colombie-Britannique, de la Saskatchewan et du Manitoba et rejoint plus de 8 000 jeunes chaque année. MEC offre du matériel et du financement pour soutenir les programmes parascolaires et les équipes de Spirit North.


Imagine Canada

Vos achats aident à protéger les espaces où nous pratiquons nos activités et soutiennent des façons d’inciter tous les Canadiens à être actifs dehors. En tant que fière membre du Programme des entreprises généreuses d’Imagine Canada, MEC verse chaque année plus de 1 % de ses profits avant impôts à des communautés où nous pratiquons nos activités.


London Benchmarking Group Canada

Nous sommes membres du London Benchmarking Group Canada pour nous assurer que nous gérons, évaluons et communiquons notre impact social de la meilleure façon possible.

Depuis 1987, nous avons investi plus de 44 millions de dollars dans des projets qui soutiennent la conservation de la nature et les activités récréatives au Canada.