Black Diamond Carabiner/Quickdraw, specific models

Certain models of Black Diamond carabiners/quickdraws are subject to a manufacturer’s voluntary recall.

According to Black Diamond, the recall is because of “the possibility of defects in the gate that could cause the carabiner to fail or function improperly.” Although no accidents have been reported, Black Diamond recommends that you stop using your carabiners and quickdraws and carefully inspect them to determine if the gates are defective.

The recall is for various styles of wiregate, solid gate and locking screwgate carabiners made between December 2014 and January 2016. For instructions about how to inspect your carabiners/quickdraws, information on affected styles, and details on how to return defective carabiners/quickdraws, visit the Black Diamond Carabiner Recall page.

Defective carabiners/quickdraws can be returned to Black Diamond, which will ship new ones to you free of charge. They can also be returned to MEC for exchange or refund.

For more info

If you’re uncertain about which carabiners you own, contact our Service Centre at info@mec.ca or 1.888.847.0770 (ask for Returns). We can check your purchase history and confirm if your carabiners/quickdraws may be affected.

Certains modèles spécifiques de mousquetons/dégaines de Black Diamond

Certains modèles de mousquetons/dégaines de Black Diamond font l’objet d’un rappel volontaire lancé par le fabricant.

Selon Black Diamond, la raison du rappel est « la défectuosité possible du doigt qui pourrait provoquer un mauvais fonctionnement du mousqueton ». Même si aucun accident n’a été rapporté, Black Diamond vous recommande de cesser d’utiliser votre mousqueton ou dégaine, et de les examiner attentivement pour déterminer si les doigts sont défectueux.

Le rappel touche différents modèles de mousquetons/dégaines à doigt plein, à doigt fil et à vis qui ont été fabriqués entre décembre 2014 et janvier 2016. Pour savoir comment examiner votre mousqueton et obtenir de l’information relative aux numéros des modèles touchés par le rappel, en plus de connaître la façon de retourner un mousqueton/dégaine défectueux, visitez la page de rappel de Black Diamond.

Les mousquetons/dégaines défectueux peuvent être retournés à Black Diamond qui se chargera ensuite de vous livrer gratuitement de nouveaux modèles. Vous pouvez également les retourner chez MEC pour obtenir un échange ou un remboursement.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Si vous n’êtes pas certain du modèle de mousqueton/dégaine en votre possession, veuillez communiquer avec notre Centre de services : info@mec.ca ou au 1 888 847 0770 (demandez le service des retours). Nous pourrons vérifier votre historique d’achats et vous confirmer si votre mousqueton est touché par ce rappel.