Close up of a climber sitting at the crag with rope

About climbing ropes

Ropes used for rock climbing are dynamic ropes, designed to stretch on impact to absorb the energy generated by a fall. For most cragging and single pitch climbing, a single rope with a diameter of 9–10mm is ideal. For longer routes, alpine climbs and winter conditions, you might opt for a dual rope system with thinner ropes used in pairs.

Dynamic ropes are very durable. Despite what you might see in action movies, they don’t break under normal use. They are constructed with a tightly braided sheath (the coloured part) that protects the load-bearing core, and manufacturers must test them rigorously and systematically. Note that MEC also carries static ropes. These have very little stretch and are not used for climbing, only for hauling gear or in rescue situations where there is no chance that a fall will shockload them.

Rope Length

Sixty meter ropes are kind of standard for most climbers. A longer 70-meter rope allows you to extend pitches, but it also weighs more and takes up more room in your pack. You should always be aware of the length of your rope and the length of the pitch you’re on, to ensure that you have enough rope (twice as much rope length as the length of the pitch) to rappel back down safely.

Ropes used exclusively for gyms or for crossing short sections of glaciers can be shorter. 40-meter ropes are the norm for most indoor climbing gyms.

Diameter

Climbing ropes are categorized into three types based on their diameter and intended use. You can identify the category of a rope by looking at the symbol marked on the tape at either end.

Single

With a diameter around 9 to 11mm, these ropes are intended to be used individually for all around climbing and top-roping. Their relatively fat diameter makes them durable to stand up to abrasion and withstand more test falls. The thicker ropes in this category (above 10mm) are good for high-abrasion situations (top-roping) and are the best choice for your first rope. Thinner ropes (10mm and under) suit alpine climbs, hard redpoints, and long pitches. They weigh less and are less bulky, but are rated to withstand fewer successive test falls.

Half

Found in diameters from 8 to 9mm, half ropes (sometimes called double ropes) are always used in pairs. They are clipped into protection alternately, one line at a time, to keep the ropes running straight to limit rope drag over bulges, overhangs, and traverses, and to minimize impact force. Another advantage is that you can descend with a full rope length when you rappel. Two ropes are also less likely to be cut by falling rock, ice, or sharp edges, and, when used properly, half ropes deliver significantly less impact force then a single rope. Purchase pairs in two distinct colours for efficient use and ease of organization. Although a pair of thin ropes weighs more than a single rope, the weight can be shared among partners, and in some situations (glacier travel) a single half rope can be used as an ultra-light option.

Twin

Twin ropes are designed for alpine routes. The essential feature is that their thin diameter (7.5-8mm) makes them almost as light as a single line, but offers full-rope-length rappels and high safety margins. The twin rope system uses two identical ropes, but unlike half ropes, they are both clipped into the same piece of protection. They require stellar management and organization to prevent twisting and tangling, and record much higher impact forces than single or half ropes.

DRY AND NON-DRY FINISHES

Dry ropes are impregnated with a fluoropolymer-based solution to make them as water-resistant as possible. Absorbed water increases the weight of the climbing rope and reduces its strength considerably. Use of dry ropes is essential for alpine and ice climbers, or for glacier travel. Non-dry ropes will suffice in other conditions, although a dry treatment is also useful for reducing wear from abrasion.

impact force

A measure of a rope’s elasticity and ability to absorb energy in a fall. The higher the impact force number, the more energy the climbing rope will transmit to the belay system and the protection. Low impact forces create a soft catch and are a benefit with uncertain protection or falls on short lengths, but they usually mean the rope will have a greater stretch, which can be a nuisance when top roping.

Standard tests

The International Union of Alpine Associates (UIAA) tests and certifies dynamic climbing ropes using standardized tests. CE certified ropes use virtually the same testing standards.

Falls

Single ropes are tested by dropping an 80kg mass attached to a measured section of rope repeatedly until it snaps. The rating indicates the number of falls the rope withstood. Ropes that cannot withstand at least five falls are not approved. Half-ropes are tested with a 55kg mass. The fall rating indicates the number of falls withstood by a single rope strand. Twin ropes are tested with 80kg dropped on two strands. This test generates an unusually high amount of force that is very unlikely to be generated in a real-world climbing situation.

Elongation

Tests measure the dynamic elongation (stretch), of a climbing rope under a dynamic load. Currently, the maximum allowable stretch on the first drop of the test, using a single rope is 40% with an 80kg load. Information about the elastic property of a rope is important in its relation to impact forces. A rope with greater dynamic elongation will have lower impact forces. But, keep in mind that a climbing rope with lots of stretch can be difficult, if not potentially dangerous to use on a top-roped climb.

Care, cleaning and retirement

Store your rope in a dry place at room temperature. Keep it away from dirt, chemicals, acids and alkali compounds, oxidizing agents found in concrete, and sunlight – these all degrade nylon.

  • Use a rope bag. Dirt contains tiny, sharp microcrystals that can cause internal damage to a rope.
  • Don’t step on it. This can work the sharp dirt particles through the sheath and into the core.

washing a climbing rope

Be nice to your climbing rope, and wash it  by hand in cool water with a mild chemical-free soap. Rinse it well, and spread it out to air-dry, but avoid putting it in direct sunlight. You can also use special cleaning products and dedicated rope-cleaning brushes. Some substances, such as salt and tree pitch, can be removed with a mild soap, but will probably require several washings.

  • Don’t wash your rope in a machine with an agitator, as it can easily be stretched and damaged.
  • Don’t dry it in a dryer, in direct sunlight, or above a heat source.

When to retire a climbing rope

The life expectancy of a rope depends on amount of use, number of falls, climbing technique, type of rock, and handling. Top-roping is hard on a rope and can abrade it quickly.

Manufacturer’s recommended rope retirement schedule:

  • 5-7 years if used for a couple of pitches every few months
  • 2 years for normal weekend use
  • 3 months of near daily use
  • Up to 1 year of part-time use including multiple falls
  • If a rope is damaged by rock fall, crampons, or sharp rock edges. If you are certain the damage is limited to an end, you can shorten your rope by cutting off the damaged piece.
  • Retire your rope if it suffers a fall that approaches factor 2. That’s a fall that’s twice the distance as the amount of rope run out from the belay. In a factor 2 fall, you fall past your belayer and end up hanging below them.

Close up of a climber sitting at the crag with rope

Choisir une corde

Les cordes utilisées en escalade sont des cordes dynamiques. Elles sont conçues de façon à pouvoir s’étirer sous la force de choc et absorber ainsi l’énergie générée par une chute. Les cordes d’escalade sont fabriquées à l’aide d’un processus appelé kernmantel, qui consiste à envelopper l’âme de la corde (le centre) d’une gaine de nylon tressée très serrée. La gaine agit comme l’armure de la corde, destinée à protéger l’âme qui, elle, offre la majeure partie de la résistance.

MEC vend aussi des cordes statiques qui ont peu d’élasticité. Ces dernières sont utilisées seulement pour le halage et le relais, ou encore dans des situations de sauvetage ou d’exploration où les risques de chute sont nuls.

Longueur

Les cordes de 60 m sont devenues la norme au sein de la communauté des grimpeurs. Il est vrai qu’une corde de 70 m peut permettre de distancer les relais, mais elle est pesante et occupe plus d’espace dans votre sac. Afin de ne jamais manquer de corde au cours de l’ascension et de redescendre en toute sécurité, vous devriez toujours connaître la longueur de votre corde ainsi que celle des voies que vous grimpez.

Diamètre

Les cordes sont divisées en trois catégories selon leur diamètre et leur utilité. Vous pouvez distinguer les différentes catégories de cordes par les rubans marqués d’un symbole à cet effet à l’une ou l’autre des extrémités de la corde.

Cordes simples

D’un diamètre variant entre 9 et 11 mm, la corde simple a été pensée pour qu’on l’utilise seule en escalade de tous genres et en moulinette. Grâce à son large diamètre, elle est beaucoup plus durable. Elle résiste davantage à l’abrasion et peut supporter de nombreux tests de chute. Les cordes simples de plus de 10 mm sont idéales comme première corde ou pour les types d’escalade qui soumettent la corde à un frottement constant (en moulinette). Quant aux cordes plus minces (10 mm et moins), elles conviennent bien à l’escalade en haute montagne, aux enchaînements difficiles après travail ainsi qu’aux longues voies. Légères et plus faciles à transporter, elles sont toutefois moins résistantes aux chutes successives.

Demi-cordes

De 8 à 9 mm de diamètre, les demi-cordes (parfois appelées cordes à doubler) sont toujours utilisées en paire. Les cordes sont attachées aux ancrages en alternance, une ligne à la fois, afin de bien glisser, d’éviter la friction contre les protubérances ou les surplombs et de minimiser la force de choc. La demi-corde permet aussi de faire de longues descentes en rappel et son utilisation en paire permet d’assurer une protection dans le cas où l’une des deux cordes serait sectionnée par une arête tranchante ou une roche. De plus, lorsqu’elle est bien utilisée, la demi-corde transmet beaucoup moins la force de choc qu’une corde simple. Pour faciliter l’utilisation et la gestion des cordes, il est préférable de choisir des couleurs différentes.

Une paire de cordes de petite grosseur est plus lourde qu’une corde simple, mais son poids peut être réparti entre les grimpeurs. Dans certaines circonstances, par exemple à l’occasion de randonnées glaciaires, l’utilisation d’une demi-corde simple peut alléger le bagage.

Cordes jumelles

Moins utilisées en Amérique du Nord, les cordes jumelles sont faites pour l’escalade en milieu alpin. Leur petit diamètre de 7,5 à 8 mm les rend aussi légères qu’une seule ligne de protection, mais elles permettent de longues descentes en rappel tout en offrant une grande marge de sécurité. Le système de cordes jumelles nécessite deux cordes identiques, mais contrairement aux demi-cordes, elles sont attachées ensemble dans le même ancrage. L’utilisation des cordes jumelles exige une gestion exceptionnelle afin d’éviter qu’elles ne s’entortillent. Elles résistent beaucoup mieux aux chocs que les cordes simples ou les demi-cordes.

Apprêt hydrofuge

Les cordes auxquelles est appliqué un apprêt hydrofuge sont résistantes à l’eau grâce au polymère fluoré de la solution dont elles sont imprégnées. L’eau absorbée par une corde augmente son poids et réduit considérablement sa résistance. Il est essentiel d’utiliser ce type de cordes en escalade de glace, en escalade en milieu alpin et en randonnée glaciaire. Pour les autres types d’escalade, une corde sans apprêt peut convenir, mais elle ne sera pas aussi bien protégée contre l’usure due au frottement.

Force de choc

La force de choc d’une corde est la mesure de son élasticité et de sa capacité à absorber l’énergie d’une chute. Plus la force de choc est élevée, plus l’énergie de la chute est transmise au système d’assurage et à la protection. Une force de choc faible réduit l’impact sur l’assureur et est bénéfique pour les protections douteuses ou les courtes chutes. Toutefois, l’élasticité d’une corde peut devenir un désavantage en moulinette.

Tests de normalisation

L’Union internationale des associations d’alpinisme (UIAA) certifie les cordes dynamiques à l’aide de tests de normalisation. Les cordes certifiées CE sont aussi soumises à des tests semblables.

Chutes

Les cordes simples sont testées avec un poids de 80 kg attaché à une section précise de la corde et lâché successivement jusqu’à ce que la corde lâche. La résistance de la corde est calculée en nombre de chutes auxquelles elle a résisté. Les cordes qui ne peuvent résister à plus de cinq chutes ne sont pas approuvées. Les demi-cordes sont testées avec un poids de 55 kg et le facteur de chutes correspond au nombre de chutes auxquelles un seul toron (fil) de corde peut résister. Les cordes jumelles sont testées avec un poids de 80 kg attaché à 2 torons.

Allongement

Les tests déterminent l’allongement dynamique (élasticité) d’une corde sous une charge dynamique. L’élasticité maximale permise au premier test est de 40 % avec un poids de 80 kg. Les renseignements concernant l’élasticité d’une corde sont importants, car ils indiquent sa force de choc. Une corde qui a un allongement dynamique élevée aura une force de choc plus faible. Rappelez-vous toutefois qu’une corde qui possède un taux d’allongement élevé peut être difficile à manier, voire être dangereuse si utilisée en moulinette.

Entretien, nettoyage et durabilité

Rangez votre corde dans un endroit sec à température ambiante. Gardez-la loin de la poussière, des rayons du soleil ainsi que des composés chimiques, acides et alcalins, qui tous accélèrent la dégradation du nylon. Aussi, prenez garde aux agents oxydants (présents dans le béton), aux javellisants et à la fumée secondaire que produisent des grimpeurs insouciants.

  • Utilisez un sac à corde pour garder votre corde propre. La poussière contient des microcristaux affilés qui peuvent endommager l’intérieur de la corde à votre insu
  • Évitez de marcher sur votre corde, car cela favorise la pénétration de microcristaux dans ses fibres

Nettoyage

Il est préférable de laver votre corde à la main, à l’eau tiède, avec un savon doux sans produits chimiques. Rincez bien, puis étendez la corde au grand air pour la faire sécher. Évitez toutefois l’exposition directe aux rayons du soleil. Vous pouvez aussi employer des articles de nettoyage spécialisés comme une brosse à cordes.

  • Ne lavez pas votre corde dans la machine à laver, car elle pourrait s’étirer ou s’endommager. D’autres substances telles que le sel et la résine peuvent être enlevées à l’aide d’un savon doux et de nombreux nettoyages.

Durabilité

La durabilité d’une corde dépend de la fréquence d’utilisation, du nombre de chutes du grimpeur et de sa technique, du type de roches pour lesquelles elle a servi et de la façon dont le grimpeur s’en sert. L’escalade en moulinette use une corde si rapidement que l’estimation de sa durée de vie par les fournisseurs s’en trouve annulée. En fait, la durabilité d’une corde varie en fonction de chaque grimpeur.

Échelle de durabilité proposée par le fournisseur :

  • De 5 à 7 ans pour une utilisation de 1 ou 2 ascensions par mois
  • eux ans pour une utilisation régulière durant les week-ends
  • Trois mois pour une utilisation quotidienne
  • Jusqu’à 1 an pour une utilisation à temps partiel, même si le grimpeur fait de nombreuses chutes
  • Cessez d’utiliser une corde qui a subi des dommages causés par la chute de roches, un crampon ou l’arête tranchante d’un rocher. Si seulement le bout de la corde est endommagé, il est toujours possible de couper ce bout
  • Cessez d’utiliser une corde après une chute de facteur 2 ou une chute qui s’y apparente (dont la hauteur est de deux fois la longueur de la corde partant de la personne qui assure)