DMM Locking Carabiners

Some DMM locking carabiners may be subject to a manufacturer’s recent voluntary recall. According to DMM, in a small number of its carabiners:

The interaction between the internal coil spring (which gives the gate its closing action) and the spring pusher (the component that holds the spring against the carabiner body) may cause the spring pusher to displace, potentially preventing the gate from closing or the mechanism from locking completely.

Please stop using your DMM carabiners and carefully inspect them to determine if the product codes correspond with the information below. (If you bought DMM carabiners from another retailer, we recommend inspecting them too.)

The recall covers 25 different styles of DMM locking carabiners. Of these, only five styles were sold at MEC. Moreover, only those carabiners with serial numbers between 14138xxxxX – 14365xxxxX and 15001xxxxX – 15254xxxxX are potentially affected.

The five styles of DMM carabiners sold at MEC are :

  • Boa 25kN (Locksafe), A897
  • Zodiac (Screwgate), A822
  • Zodiac (Locksafe), A827
  • 12mm Steel Offset D (Locking) C812
  • Belay Master, A872

Each carabiner’s unique serial number is engraved on its spine, below the DMM logo. Detailed information about where to find the serial numbers and instructions to identify whether or not your carabiner is affected are available on the DMM Product Recall Notice page.

If one or more of your carabiners is affected, return them to MEC for replacement or refund. Only carabiners sold at MEC can be returned to the Co-op.

For more info

If you’re uncertain about which DMM carabiners you have from MEC, contact our Service Centre at info@mec.ca or 1.888.847.0770. We can check your purchase history and confirm if your carabiners may be affected.

Mousquetons à vis de DMM

Certains mousquetons à vis de DMM pourraient faire l’objet d’un rappel volontaire du fabricant. Selon DMM, pour un petit nombre de ses mousquetons :

l’interaction entre le ressort interne enroulé (qui permet au nez de se refermer) et le poussoir à ressort (la pièce qui maintient le ressort contre le corps du mousqueton) pourrait déplacer le poussoir à ressort et potentiellement empêcher le nez de se fermer correctement ou le mécanisme de verrouillage de bien fonctionner.

Veuillez cesser d’utiliser vos mousquetons DMM et examinez-les attentivement pour déterminer si leurs numéros de série correspondent à ceux indiqués ci-dessous. (Si vous avez acheté des mousquetons de DMM dans un autre commerce, nous vous recommandons de les examiner également).

Le rappel touche 25 modèles de mousquetons à vis de DMM. Parmi les 25, cinq sont vendus chez MEC. De plus, seulement les mousquetons comportant les numéros de série entre 14138xxxxX – 14365xxxxX et 15001xxxxX – 15254xxxxX sont potentiellement touchés par ce rappel.

Les cinq modèles de mousquetons de DMM vendus chez MEC sont :

  • Boa 25kN (Locksafe), A897
  • Zodiac (Screwgate), A822
  • Zodiac (Locksafe), A827
  • 12mm Steel Offset D (Locking) C812
  • Belay Master, A872

Chaque mousqueton possède son propre numéro de série gravé le long de sa tige, sous le logo de DMM. Pour savoir comment bien identifier les numéros de série et déterminer si votre mousqueton est touché par ce rappel, visitez la page de rappel de DMM en cliquant ici : http://dmmclimbing.com/documents/dmm-product-recall-14-09-2015.pdf.

Si un ou plusieurs de vos mousquetons sont visés par ce rappel, veuillez nous les retourner afin d’obtenir un remplacement ou un remboursement. Seulement les mousquetons vendus chez MEC peuvent être retournés à la coopérative.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Si vous n’êtes pas certain de pouvoir identifier votre modèle de mousqueton DMM, vous pouvez communiquer avec notre Centre de services à info@mec.caou au 1.888.847.0770. Nous pourrons vérifier votre historique d’achat et vous confirmer si vos mousquetons sont touchés par ce rappel.