Mission and Values

Mission and values

We inspire and enable everyone to lead active outdoor lifestyles. We do that by selling outdoor gear, clothing and services. We match our members with gear that suits their needs. But we offer more than products, we offer passion. We love to share our expertise, experience, and enthusiasm.

We started small: a few young climbers in the mountains who dreamed of gear that wouldn’t let them down at prices they could afford. We’ve grown from a few members to millions, and our interests have grown too. Now we climb, ski, hike, run, paddle and cycle. As we grew from a small business to a big one, we remained a different kind of business. We’re a member-owned co-operative, not focused on making big surpluses, just enough to sustain what we do.

What guides us as we go

Quality

We offer high-quality, high-performance products at very competitive prices.

Integrity

We listen carefully to one another. We deal in good faith. We are honest, fair, and ethical.

Co-operation

We understand the power of community and co-operative principles. We draw on the strength of people working together.

Creativity

We embrace original ideas and fresh ways of looking at the world. We draw on these to build and evolve our heritage.

Leadership

We lead by example. We seek to motivate other individuals and organizations to act for people and the planet.

Sustainability

We work to make and market our products sustainably. We strive to build and operate our facilities with minimum ecological impact.

Stewardship

We act to preserve and restore wild places. We do so actively, consistently, and generously.

Humanity

We work actively to ensure those who make our products are treated with respect.

Adventure

We believe in living life to the fullest, with a spirit of adventure, a thirst for challenge, and a desire to learn.

Where we want to go

We aspire to be the most viable, vibrant outdoor retail business in Canada. We want to bring about a future where Canadians of all ages, and especially our youth, play outdoors in self-propelled ways more often and in ever-increasing numbers; have access to a comprehensive, carefully nurtured network of parks, wilderness, and outdoor recreation areas; and have a connection to nature that is stronger than ever. We want MEC and our members to set examples that inspire other organizations and individuals towards environmental, social, and economic sustainability. In short, we want to leave the world better than we found it.

A bigger picture

Being part of a global co-operative movement links us with co-ops in 103 countries, everything from financial institutions to grassroots neighbourhood shops. It fundamentally affects the way we do business, as we look at more than the business case of what will pay off right now, and instead seek solutions that are socially and environmentally responsible, keep us financially viable, and serve the needs of members. The co-operative principles are guidelines by which co-operatives put their values into practice.

MEC is Canada’s largest co-op by membership, a sound, successful enterprise, and something we feel proud to be a part of.

RULES OF CO-OPERATION

We use these rules to conduct our affairs, and when you join MEC, you agree to operate by them too. Please contact us if you have any questions.

MEC rules of co-operation

16_IT_0005_hybris_MissionAndValues

Charte de MEC

Nous encourageons et aidons les gens à adopter un mode de vie actif axé sur le plein air en leur fournissant du matériel, des vêtements et des services appropriés à leurs besoins. Nous aimons également transmettre notre savoir, notre expérience et notre enthousiasme.

Notre coopérative a commencé bien humblement, fondée par quelques jeunes alpinistes qui rêvaient de se procurer du matériel fiable à prix raisonnable.

Partis avec une poignée de membres, nous en comptons maintenant plusieurs millions. Nous avons aussi élargi la gamme des activités que nous soutenons pour inclure l’alpinisme et l’escalade, le ski, la randonnée, la course, le canot et le kayak ainsi que le vélo. Notre entreprise a beaucoup grandi tout en demeurant différente des autres, puisque nous sommes une coopérative qui appartient à ses membres. Nous ne travaillons pas dans le but de maximiser nos profits, mais bien pour faire de MEC une entreprise viable.

Ce qui nous guide

Qualité

Nous offrons des produits hautement performants et de grande qualité à prix compétitifs.

Intégrité

Nous sommes à l’écoute des autres. Nous menons nos opérations en toute bonne foi. Nous sommes honnêtes et justes, et nous agissons de façon éthique.

Co-opération

Nous connaissons le pouvoir de la communauté et des principes coopératifs. Nous tirons notre inspiration de tous ceux qui savent unir leurs forces.

Créativité

Nous accueillons les idées originales et les nouvelles façons de voir le monde. C’est à partir d’elles que nous construisons notre héritage.

Leadership

Nous donnons l’exemple. Nous encourageons les individus et les organisations à agir pour le bien des gens et de l’environnement.

Développement durable

Nous cherchons à fabriquer et à commercialiser nos produits en accord avec les principes du développement durable. Nous construisons et exploitons nos installations de façon à ce qu’elles aient le moins d’impact écologique possible.

Saine gestion

Nous sommes actifs, cohérents et généreux dans notre action pour préserver et restaurer les milieux sauvages.

Altruisme

Nous travaillons activement à faire en sorte que les gens qui fabriquent nos produits soient traités avec respect.

Aventure

Nous croyons que la vie doit être vécue pleinement, avec un esprit d’aventure, la soif du défi et le désir d’apprendre.

Ce à quoi nous aspirons

Nous voulons être le détaillant de produits pour activités de plein air le plus dynamique et le plus viable au Canada. Nous voulons un avenir où les Canadiens de tous âges, et spécialement les jeunes, pratiquent des activités de plein air plus souvent et en nombre toujours grandissant. Nous voulons qu’ils aient accès à un réseau de parcs et d’aires protégées diversifié et qui inspire la fierté, afin qu’ils se sentent plus près de la nature que jamais auparavant. Nous voulons que MEC et ses membres donnent l’exemple pour encourager d’autres organisations et individus à s’engager sur la voie de la durabilité environnementale, sociale et économique. En bref, nous voulons laisser le monde en meilleur état que nous l’avons trouvé.

Dans un cadre plus grand

Nous faisons partie d’un mouvement coopératif mondial regroupant des coopératives de 103 pays, allant d’institutions financières d’envergure à des petites boutiques de quartier. Cela a un impact fondamental sur notre façon de mener nos activités. Nous regardons plus loin que les décisions commerciales donnant des résultats immédiats. Nous privilégions plutôt des solutions responsables sur les plans social et environnemental, qui assurent notre viabilité financière et répondent aux besoins de nos membres. Les principes coopératifs constituent les lignes directrices qui les coopératives de mettre leurs valeurs en pratique.

MEC est la plus grande coopérative au Canada en fait de membres. Il s’agit d’une organisation viable qui connaît un franc succès et dont nous sommes très fiers de faire partie.

Règlement de MEC

L’Acte de constitution et les règles de coopération constituent le règlement officiel qui gouverne la manière dont est exploitée MEC. Ces deux documents existent en format PDF téléchargeable que vous pouvez consulter. Pour toute question, veuillez communiquer avec nous.