Ridley X-Bow quick release

The Ridley X-Bow bike may need a part upgrade for the quick release for the front wheel. The issue is that the clearance between the quick release lever (in its most open position) and the disc brake rotor may be less than 6mm, which could cause a safety hazard.

Visit the quick release recall site for information on how to inspect your bike to see if it’s affected by this issue.

If your bike is affected, please contact our Service Centre at info@mec.ca or 1.888.847.0770 (ask for Returns) to ask for a free replacement quick release part for your Ridley X-Bow. MEC will send out these new quick release parts once we receive them from Ridley (we expect to receive them by November 2, 2015).

In the meantime, please switch your quick release around so the lever is on the opposite side of the disc brake rotor to eliminate the hazard until you get a new quick release.

For more info

If you have questions about how to switch your quick release around, please get in touch with our Service Centre at the contact information above. We can also confirm your purchase history and confirm if your Ridley bike may be affected.

Vélo X-Bow de Ridley

Le levier de blocage rapide de la roue avant du vélo X-Bow de Ridley peut être visé par un rappel. En effet, si l’espace entre le levier (en position ouverte) et le disque de frein est moins de 6 mm, vous devez le remplacer pour éviter les risques d’accident.

Visitez la page de rappel de produits de quick release (anglais seulement) pour visionner la vidéo qui explique comment vérifier si votre levier de blocage rapide est visé par ce rappel.

Le cas échéant, veuillez communiquer avec notre Centre de services à info@mec.ca ou 1.888.847.0770 (demandez le service des retours) pour demander un nouveau levier de blocage rapide gratuit pour votre vélo X-Bow de Ridley. Dès que Ridley nous livrera les nouveaux leviers de blocage rapide (autour du 2 novembre 2015), nous pourrons vous envoyer le vôtre pour remplacer le modèle touché par le rappel.

Entre-temps, veuillez installer votre levier de blocage de façon à ce que le levier soit du côté droit de votre roue avant pour éliminer les risques.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Si vous avez des questions relatives à l’installation de votre levier de blocage du côté droit de votre roue, veuillez communiquer avec notre Centre de services (voir ci-dessus). Nous pourrons vérifier votre historique d’achat et vous confirmer si votre vélo Ridley est touché par ce rappel.