18_CM_61_Diversity_MiniDocs_hero_freedom

Zìyóu (Freedom)

Run time: 7:16 min

How do you know if you’ve been living your life to the fullest?

Meet Emily, an avid kayaker who feels most free between water and sky. Shattering the mould that had been cast for her life, she has opted instead to live for herself, listening attentively to her inner voice. For Emily, happiness stems from being in control of her life and her choices – a notion that is put to the test when she faces a situation entirely beyond her control.

When she is suddenly confronted with a situation most hope never to encounter, Emily is forced to consider the choices she’s made, and what she’ll do differently in the next chapter of her life.

Join her as she explores what it means to set herself free.

Director’s statement

On the surface, “Ziyou” is a story about an individual overcoming the challenges of her own culture and family traditions, but in actuality it is something much more. It’s a universal story about the will of an individual to carve a path that is genuine to the innermost values by which one lives. To me, Emily’s story represents the true meaning of “freedom.”

And this is what fascinates me the most: despite all the tribulations of her upbringing and personal health, Emily has maintained a strong and consistent perspective throughout her life, choosing her own story and not one that was chosen for her. This story explores how an individual connects with and finds deep meaning, joy and solace in the natural world.

Goh Iromoto

Director

After receiving his B.A. in Human Geography, Goh’s curiosity about the human spirit led him to a career in documentary photography and filmmaking. Everything he learned working in these genres continues to have a huge influence on his commercial work, where he is known for a cinematography that is carefully executed with an authentic and visceral feel. Goh has received numerous awards, including the 2016 Canadian Society of Cinematographers Webeo Award for his short film “We Belong To It.”

To look at his work is to see a filmmaker shaped by the very things he’s captured through a camera lens. From meeting amazing people to exploring some of the planet’s most incredible locations, Goh draws upon a lifetime of unique experiences and his passion for storytelling.


Keep watching

18_CM_61_Diversity_MiniDocs_hero_freedom

Zìyóu (Liberté)

Durée : 7 minutes 16 secondes

Comment savez-vous si vous profitez pleinement de votre vie ?

Voici Emily, c’est entre l’eau et le ciel que cette mordue de kayak se sent réellement le plus libre. En cassant le moule qui l’emprisonnait, elle a décidé de vivre pour elle-même et d’écouter attentivement sa voix intérieure. Pour Emily, le bonheur c’est d’être aux commandes de sa vie et de ses choix – une notion mise à l’épreuve lorsqu’elle est confrontée à une situation totalement hors de son contrôle.

Lorsqu’elle est soudainement confrontée à une situation à laquelle la plupart des gens ne souhaitent jamais faire face, elle doit réévaluer ses choix et décider de ce qu’elle fera différemment dans le prochain chapitre de sa vie.

Suivez-la dans ses réflexions sur la signification d’être résolument libre.

Mot du réalisateur

Ziyou relate l’histoire d’une personne qui surmonte les difficultés relatives à sa propre culture et à ses traditions familiales, mais en réalité, le film va beaucoup plus loin que ça. Il s’agit d’une histoire universelle sur la volonté d’une personne de tracer une voie fidèle à ses valeurs intrinsèques qui lui servent de boussole. Selon moi, l’histoire d’Emily représente la véritable signification de la liberté.

Et c’est ce qui me fascine le plus : malgré toutes ses tribulations familiales et ses problèmes de santé, Emily a su constamment maintenir le cap sur ses valeurs en décidant d’écrire sa propre histoire et non de vivre celle qui a été écrite pour elle. Cette histoire explore la façon dont une personne connecte avec la nature et y trouve un sens profond, de la joie et du réconfort.

Goh Iromoto

Réalisateur

Goh a reçu son baccalauréat en géographie humaine, puis sa curiosité pour l’esprit humain l’a poussé à faire carrière en photographie documentaire et en cinéma. Tout ce qu’il a appris en travaillant dans ces domaines continue d’avoir une influence considérable sur son travail commercial, où il est reconnu pour ses réalisations cinématographiques authentiques, viscérales et exécutées avec soin. Aujourd’hui, Goh cumule de nombreux prix, notamment le prix Webeo 2016 de la Canadian Society of Cinematographers pour son court métrage intitulé We Belong To It.

Regarder son œuvre, c’est voir un cinéaste qui a été transformé par ce qu’il vu à travers l’objectif de sa caméra. Des rencontres avec des personnes remarquables aux explorations de certains des lieux parmi les plus incroyables de la planète, Goh s’appuie sur les expériences uniques de sa vie et sur sa passion pour les histoires bien racontées.


D’autres vidéos