Mountain Equipment Company

Ghost Bikes quick release, specific models

Certain models of Ghost Bicycles may need a part upgrade for the quick release for the front wheel. The issue is that the clearance between the quick release lever (in its most open position) and the disc brake rotor may be less than 6mm, which could cause a safety hazard.

Models of Ghost Bikes that may need this part upgrade are listed below:

Product NumberGhost-brand bike model
5039-165Panamao X 6
5039-166Panamao X 6 Lady
5039-170Kato 3
5043-730Kato 4
5039-172Kato 5
5039-171Lanao 3
5043-731Lanao 4
5039-174Lanao 5
5043-732Tacana 3
5039-176Tacana 4
5043-733Tacana 5

Visit the quick release recall site for information on how to inspect your bike to see if it’s affected by this issue.

If your bike is affected, please contact our Service Centre at info@mec.ca or 1.888.847.0770 (ask for Returns) to ask for a free replacement quick release part for your Ghost-brand bike. MEC will send out these new quick release parts once they are available.

In the meantime, please switch your quick release around so the lever is on the opposite side of the disc brake rotor to eliminate the hazard until you get a new quick release.

For more info

If you have questions about how to switch your quick release around, please get in touch with our Service Centre at the contact information above. We can also check your purchase history and confirm if your Ghost Bike may be affected.

Certains modèles du levier de blocage des vélos Ghost

Le levier de blocage rapide de la roue avant de certains modèles de vélos Ghost peut être visé par un rappel. En effet, si l’espace entre le levier (en position ouverte) et le disque de frein est moins de 6 mm, vous devez le remplacer pour éviter les risques d’accident.

Voici les modèles des vélos Ghost qui sont touchés par le rappel :

Numéro de produit

Vélo de marque Ghost

5039-165 Panamao X 6
5039-166 Panamao X 6 Lady
5039-170 Kato 3
5043-730 Kato 4
5039-172 Kato 5
5039-171 Lanao 3
5043-731 Lanao 4
5039-174 Lanao 5
5043-732 Tacana 3
5039-176 Tacana 4
5043-733 Tacana 5

Visitez www.quickreleaserecall.com (anglais seulement) pour visionner la vidéo qui explique comment vérifier si votre levier de blocage rapide est visé par ce rappel.

Le cas échéant, veuillez communiquer avec notre Centre de services à info@mec.ca ou au 1.888.847.0770 (demandez le service des retours) pour demander un nouveau levier de blocage rapide gratuit pour votre vélo Ghost. Dès que nous aurons reçu les nouveaux leviers de blocage rapide, nous pourrons vous envoyer le vôtre.

Entre-temps, veuillez installer votre levier de blocage de façon à ce que le levier soit du côté droit de votre roue avant pour éliminer les risques.

Pour de plus amples renseignements

Si vous avez des questions relatives à l’installation de votre levier de blocage du côté droit de votre roue, veuillez communiquer avec notre Centre de services (voir ci-dessus). Nous pourrons vérifier votre historique d’achat et vous confirmer si votre vélo Ghost est touché par ce rappel.