Skier with goggles and ski poles

How to choose and size ski poles

Although ski poles aren’t as technical as ski boots and bindings, there are a few things to look for when you’re buying a new pair. The materials and shapes used for the ski pole grips, shafts and baskets will play a role in how they’ll feel and perform.

The best ski poles for you depend on a few key considerations:

  • Where you’re skiing: Skiers that are chasing powder stashes all day will be looking for different poles than all-mountain and park skiers.
  • Ski pole sizing: Use the ski pole size chart below to see what length you need.
  • Extra features to look for: Different material and technology will affect how a pole performs.

Where you’re skiing

Skier in the terrain park

You’ll want to match your ski poles to the main type of skiing you plan to do. In general, though, a set of lightweight poles will make your day more enjoyable since they cut down on arm fatigue whether you’re skiing powder, groomers or all-mountain lines.

  • All-mountain and resort skiing: You’ll want to get the goldilocks of poles: not too long or too short, and with baskets that aren’t too big or too small. This type of “just right” pole is good for beginners and intermediate skiers too.
  • Powder skiing: Look for poles that are slightly shorter than what you’d use for all-mountain skiing. In deep snow, long poles require you to lift them high with each turn, which means you’ll have pretty tired arms by the end of the day. You’ll also want big powder baskets to prevent your poles from sinking in the snow.
  • Backcountry skiing: Poles with adjustable length will come handy on super deep days, as well as on long flat approaches. The grip on backcountry skiing poles generally have a little hook-like feature to flip your bindings into ski or hike mode.
  • Park skiing: For terrain park skiing, look for shorter ski poles with low swing weight and colours that pop. (Everyone knows bright colours spin faster.)

Ski pole sizing

Use the ski pole sizing chart below to find the right pole length based on your height. This chart is a guideline for all-mountain or resort skiers – size up or down based on the type of skiing you’re doing (use the tips above to help).

Ski pole size chart

Skier height Pole length
4ft. 1in. – 4ft. 4in. 95cm
4ft. 5in. – 4ft. 8in. 100cm
4ft. 9in. – 5ft. 105cm
5ft. 1in. – 5ft. 3in. 110cm
5ft. 4in. – 5ft. 6in. 115cm
5ft. 7in. – 5ft. 9in. 120cm
5ft. 10in. – 6ft. 125cm
6ft. 1in. – 6ft. 3in. 130cm
6ft. 4in. – 6ft. 6in. 135cm
6ft. 7in.+ 140cm

To double check that the pole length is right for your body, flip the pole upside down and hold it right below the basket (make sure the grip is on the floor). For all-mountain or downhill skiing, if your elbow is bent at a 90-degree angle, then it’s the correct size for you. Remember to wear your ski boots when you do this.

Sizing ski poles

Extra features to look for

The more you spend, the better you ski – right? Not necessarily. But if you do choose to splurge a bit more on ski poles, it can mean better technology, materials and more features.

Shaft materials

Aluminum is the main material used in ski poles, but not all aluminum is created equal. 7000-series aluminum poles will be lighter and stronger than a comparable 6000-series aluminum pole. The downside of aluminum poles is that if they’re flexed too much, they’re likely to stay bent. Carbon fibre ski poles are even more lightweight than high-grade aluminum ones and have a better ability to flex and bounce back to their original shape.

Skier with flexed ski pole
Adjustable ski poles

A set of telescoping or adjustable ski poles can be quite useful for backcountry skiers and people who split their time between resort skiing and chasing powder. Longer poles are more efficient for skinning up, since they let you take longer strides. Shorter poles are easier to manoeuvre around when you’re skiing in deep snow.

Ski pole grips

Grips with soft rubber on top of harder rubber are often more comfortable to hold that single material grips. Some poles have extra grip below the main grip for shifting your hands down the shaft when you’re walking on sidehills.

Ski pole straps

Ski straps come is all kinds of shapes, materials and construction. If you’re planning to use your ski poles as hiking or trekking poles in summer, padded straps are a nice option. For safety reasons when you’re tree skiing or skiing in avalanche terrain, some backcountry ski poles have detachable straps that will release when pull on hard enough. These can also be removed for skiers that prefer to ski without straps.

Ski pole baskets

The size of the basket determines the level of float they provide; bigger baskets give way more float than smaller baskets for skiing at resorts. Smaller baskets also work for using your ski poles as trekking poles on summer hiking trips. Some baskets have hooks designed to help flip up your alpine touring bindings into ski or hike mode.

Skier with goggles and ski poles

Comment choisir des bâtons de ski de la bonne taille

Bien que les bâtons de ski ne soient pas aussi techniques que les bottes et les fixations, il y a quelques éléments à prendre en compte lorsque vous en achetez une nouvelle paire. Les matériaux utilisés dans la fabrication des poignées, des tiges et des rondelles, ainsi que leur forme, jouent un rôle dans la satisfaction que les bâtons vous procureront quand vous skiez, tant sur le plan des sensations que des performances.

Les meilleurs bâtons de ski pour vous dépendent de certains éléments clés :

  • le type de terrain où vous skiez : les skieurs constamment à la recherche de poudreuse doivent choisir des bâtons différents des modèles pour les amateurs de tout-terrain et de parcs à neige;
  • la longueur des bâtons de ski : utilisez le tableau ci-dessous pour déterminer la longueur de bâtons dont vous avez besoin;
  • autres caractéristiques à considérer : les différents matériaux et la technologie influeront sur la performance d’un bâton.

Type de terrain où vous skiez

Skier in the terrain park

Il est important que vos bâtons soient adaptés au type de ski que vous pratiquerez. En général, une paire de bâtons légers vous permettra de mieux profiter de votre journée parce que vous aurez les bras moins fatigués, que vous skiiez dans la poudreuse, en tout-terrain ou en centre.

  • Ski tout-terrain et en centre : Il vous faut des bâtons ni trop longs, ni trop courts dotés d’une rondelle qui n’est ni trop grande, ni trop petite. Ce type de bâton « idéal » convient aux skieurs débutants et intermédiaires.
  • Ski dans la poudreuse : Recherchez des bâtons qui sont légèrement plus courts que ceux que vous utiliseriez pour le ski tout-terrain. Dans la neige profonde, les longs bâtons vous obligent à lever les bras très haut à chaque virage, ce qui signifie que vos bras seront exténués à la fin de la journée. Il vous faut aussi de grandes rondelles qui empêcheront vos bâtons de s’enfoncer dans la neige.
  • Ski de haute route : Les bâtons ajustables sont particulièrement pratiques quand la poudreuse est généreuse et durant les longues approches sur des terrains plats. La poignée des bâtons de ski de haute route comporte généralement une sorte de petit crochet servant à ajuster vos fixations en mode ski ou en mode marche.
  • Ski dans les parcs à neige : Pour skier dans les parcs, recherchez des bâtons plus courts ayant une faible force d’inertie et des couleurs vives. (Tout le monde sait que les couleurs vives permettent des sauts plus audacieux.)

Longueur des bâtons de ski

Utilisez le tableau ci-dessous pour déterminer la longueur de bâtons dont vous avez besoin en fonction de votre taille. Ce tableau est un guide pour le ski en centre et le ski tout-terrain – à partir de là, choisissez un modèle plus court ou plus long selon le type de ski que vous pratiquez (relisez les conseils ci-dessus pour vous aider).

Tableau des longueurs de bâtons de ski

Taille du skieur Longueur du bâton
1,24 m – 1,32 m 95 cm
1,35 m – 1,42 m 100 cm
1,45 m – 1,52 m 105 cm
1,55 m – 1,60 m 110 cm
1,63 m – 1,68 m 115 cm
1,70 m – 1,75 m 120 cm
1,78 m – 1,83 m 125 cm
1,85 m – 1,91 m 130 cm
1,93 m – 1,98 m 135 cm
2 m et plus 140 cm

Pour vérifier si la longueur des bâtons convient à votre taille, placez un bâton à l’envers et tenez-le juste en dessous de la rondelle (assurez-vous que la poignée repose sur le sol). Pour le ski tout-terrain ou alpin, si votre coude effectue un angle de 90 degrés, le bâton est parfait pour vous. Souvenez-vous de porter vos bottes de ski quand vous mesurez les bâtons.

Sizing ski poles

Autres caractéristiques à considérer

Plus vous payez cher, mieux vous allez skier, c’est bien ça ? Pas nécessairement. Mais si vous décidez d’investir davantage dans des bâtons de ski, cela peut se traduire par une meilleure technologie, de meilleurs matériaux et plus de caractéristiques.

Matériaux de la tige

Les bâtons de ski sont faits principalement d’aluminium, mais tous les aluminiums ne sont pas égaux. Les bâtons en aluminium de la série 7000 sont plus légers et plus résistants que ceux en aluminium de la série 6000. Par contre, l’inconvénient des bâtons en aluminium c’est qu’ils risquent de se déformer s’ils sont trop fléchis. Les bâtons en fibre de carbone sont encore plus légers que ceux en aluminium de qualité supérieure et ont une meilleure capacité à se fléchir et à reprendre leur forme par la suite.

Skier with flexed ski pole

Bâtons de ski ajustables

Les bâtons de ski télescopiques ou ajustables peuvent être très pratiques pour les amateurs de ski de haute route ou les skieurs qui partagent leur temps entre les centres de ski et la poudreuse. Les bâtons longs sont plus efficaces pour les ascensions avec peaux parce qu’ils permettent une plus grande foulée alors que les bâtons courts sont plus faciles à manœuvrer quand vous descendez dans un épais tapis de neige.

Poignées

Les poignées en caoutchouc souple superposant un caoutchouc dur sont souvent plus confortables que les poignées faites d’un seul matériau. Certaines poignées se prolongent sur la tige pour vous permettre de descendre la main lorsque vous avancez à flanc de montagne.

Dragonnes

Les dragonnes sont offertes dans une variété de formes, de matériaux et de construction. Si vous avez l’intention d’utiliser vos bâtons pour faire de la randonnée en été, les dragonnes coussinées s’avèrent une option intéressante. Pour des raisons de sécurité lorsque vous skiez dans les sous-bois ou en terrain avalancheux, optez pour des bâtons dotés de dragonnes qui se détachent sous l’effet d’une forte traction. De plus, vous pouvez également les retirer si vous préférez skier sans dragonne.

Rondelles

La taille des rondelles détermine leur degré de flottabilité; plus la rondelle est grande, moins elles s’enfoncent dans la neige comparativement aux rondelles plus petites conçues pour skier dans les centres de ski. Les plus petites rondelles sont également pratiques si vous voulez utiliser vos bâtons de ski pour la marche. Certaines rondelles possèdent un crochet conçu pour vous aider à ajuster vos fixations de ski de haute route en mode ski ou en mode marche.