Mountain Equipment Company
Mountain peak with blue sky and mountains in the background

Leadership at MEC

United by their desire to make MEC successful, our executive team is tasked with embracing change, seeking out new ideas and finding talented people to keep Mountain Equipment Company humming.

Eric Claus

Eric Claus

CEO and Chair

Eric is a seasoned retail leader and outdoor enthusiast who’s excited for the next 50 years of MEC’s legacy.

With a passion for people, Eric has led multiple large retail organizations in Canada and the US. He brings a deep knowledge of the retail world to MEC, with vast experience in previous CEO, Chair and Board roles at both public and private companies.

Eric has been a loyal member of MEC since 1984. A former long-distance runner for years, he has shifted his outside time to hiking – from the Alaskan and Yukon mountains to the remote jungles in Peru, along with trails close to home in BC. Kite boarding, diving and ocean kayaking also currently top his outdoor list.

Jay Taylor

Jay Taylor

President and Chief Operating Officer

Jay has a diverse background in the world of outdoor gear. His career started in ski racing, and since then he’s been involved in retail, distribution, and manufacturing businesses for over 25 years.

He's been a product manager at Salomon, a consultant to the president of Quiksilver, and operated two successful ski stores in Whistler and Vancouver until 2010. Jay also founded a sporting goods company (The Soze Group) and was Global Brand President of Hoka One One footwear.

Jay’s been a member of MEC since 1988, when he first moved to Vancouver to attend UBC. These days, when he’s not in the MEC office, you can find him in mountains skiing, mountain biking, and trail running or at the ocean surfing.

Peter Hlynsky

Peter Hlynsky

Chief Financial Officer

Peter has an extensive background as an executive leader across a range of industries in Canada, the US, Australia and Europe. He brings a broad range of experience with a focus on balancing financial stability while managing culture to ensure long-term business success. He’s a Chartered Accountant with a wealth of knowledge in everything from operational improvements to transaction services.

Peter has been a member of MEC since 1995. Some of his adventures include ski touring in Canada, hiking in the Andes, rafting the Amazon River, diving off Fiji, surfing in California, and lots of kayaking through Desolation Sound and the Gulf Islands. Growing up on the North Shore near Vancouver, he has fond memories of riding his 1990s rigid mountain bike wearing hockey equipment as padding (gear has come a long way). These days, you can find him introducing his wife and three kids to his favourite old trails in the mountains.

Deb Paulsen

Deb Paulsen

Chief HR Officer

Deb is a seasoned professional and devoted employee advocate. She has a passion for influencing organizational cultures and driving people initiatives that inspires staffers to achieve their potential and deliver their best.

Deb plays a critical role in advancing MEC’s people vision and culture by building integrated talent solutions and shaping MEC’s people programs across the business. She has served in senior leadership roles at Rocky Mountaineer and 3M, supporting accelerated organizational growth and building high-performance teams.

A long-time MEC member, Deb enjoys cycling (whether on trails, the road, or on her spin bike), hiking the North Shore mountains, and spending as much time as she can in Whistler enjoying a variety of outdoor activities.

Catherine Lau

Catherine Lau

General Counsel and Corporate Secretary

Catherine leads and oversees MEC’s legal, governance, privacy and real estate matters. She brings over 14 years of legal experience to our team, and prior to joining MEC, was Senior Counsel at TELUS and associate at Borden Ladner Gervais, LLP.

She currently serves on the board of Royal Canadian Marine Search and Rescue, along with the Women General Counsel of Canada. She’s also one of the executive sponsors of the Diversity and Inclusion Steering Committee at MEC. She enjoys giving back to the community and has volunteered with various community groups, including the TELUS Victoria Community Board.

Catherine enjoys biking, hitting the ski hill and travelling with her family. A couple past highlights include visiting the ruins in Machu Picchu and snorkelling near Maldives and the Great Barrier Reef.

Adam Ketcheson

Adam Ketcheson

Chief Product Officer

Adam oversees the merchandising, MEC Label and digital teams. Before starting at Mountain Equipment Company, Adam was the CMO for Canadian tech start-up North (acquired by Google). He has deep experience in the realm of outdoor retail, and has led sales and brand marketing groups at global industry leaders Salomon, The North Face and Arc'teryx. He’s also served on the board of The Conservation Alliance.

Adam has been an MEC member since 1994, and when he’s not working with our staff to develop and bring in new gear, he’s using it outside on backcountry ski tours, mountain bike trails, and running routes in the North Shore mountains.

Sylvia McLoughlin

Sylvia McLoughlin

VP Retail

MEC stores are the start of so many adventures, and Sylvia’s role is to help make sure your experience at our stores is a great one. She drives awesome member service and staffer engagement by supporting and improving store processes and procedures.

Sylvia hails from South Africa and lived in Ireland for 15 years before settling in Canada. With over 20 years of retail experience, she has worn many hats, including area controller, regional manager and store manager.

Sylvia is always up to go trail running, hiking and bouldering, but she’s happiest in the water – either paddling, surfing or kayaking. She loves that every day she gets to live the dream and be inspired by the amazing adventures our staff have.

Christian Gehres

Christian Gehres

VP Supply Chain and Operations Transformation

Christian is a hands-on, transformational leader who is making MEC’s supply chain future ready.

With over 10 years of experience across several industries and markets, Christian has led multiple transformation and growth processes. He has a deep knowledge of cross-functional operations, change management and has a strong financial background.

Christian recently moved to Canada and is big into hiking, backcountry camping, snowboarding and exploring mountain trails with his dog Amy. A keen traveller, he has climbing experience in the Himalayas and is also a licensed snowboard instructor.

Michele Guimond

Michele Guimond

VP Marketing

Michele leads the group that’s responsible for sharing the MEC brand with the world. A dedicated people leader, she’s known for her ability to build strong culture as well as strong teams. She’s been a proud MEC member for ages, and she brings a depth of skills in brand strategy and operations to her role.

Before MEC, Michele led marketing at top-tier retail brands going through periods of rapid growth (including Arc’teryx and Aritzia). As a leader who’s also a creative at heart, she believes in the power of good storytelling and leading with high-quality creative to elevate a brand.

One of her favourite aspects of her work is how it links with her love for the outdoors. She’s an avid backcountry skier, downhill mountain biker and trail runner, and she spends every opportunity planning adventures outdoors.

Julia Freeman

Julia Freeman

VP Digital and Ecommerce

Julia leads the ecommerce and digital group that’s responsible for providing a seamless omni-channel shopping experience. She has a deep knowledge and passion for building a frictionless experience to meet the customer where they want to be. She can balance big picture strategy with day-to-day needs, bringing people together towards meaningful action

Before MEC, Julia propelled ecommerce growth at omni-channel brands like Best Buy and Aritzia, as well as in the B2B ecommerce space with Hootsuite.

An MEC member for over 20 years, Julia loves the brand and knowledge-based experience in-store and online. Outside of work, she’s an aspiring marathoner who spends lots of time running or cycling on the seawall or at local playgrounds with her kids.

Erik Garrett

Erik Garrett

VP IT

Erik is seasoned technology leader who is living his career dream of working for MEC, a brand that has been influencing him from a young age.

Since the early 2000s, Erik has built a technology career on two basic principles – keep learning and keep improving. Having worked across multiple industries, Erik brings a breadth of experience that’s needed to keep pushing MEC’s Information Technology forward in the ever-changing retail landscape.

Erik was drawn to the outdoors from a very young age, having grown up on the West Coast, and attributes this inspiration to the old MEC print catalogues. Now settled on the North Shore of Vancouver, Erik spends his time mountain biking, hiking, camping and snowboarding.

Mountain Equipment Company
Mountain peak with blue sky and mountains in the background

Leadership chez MEC

Unis par leur volonté d’assurer le succès de MEC, les membres de l’équipe de direction ont pour tâche de s’adapter aux changements, de trouver de nouvelles idées et de recruter des gens de talent pour perpétuer le dynamisme de Mountain Equipment Company.

Eric Claus

Eric Claus

PDG et président du conseil d’administration

Eric est un gestionnaire expérimenté en commerce de détail et un grand adepte de plein air. Il se réjouit à l’idée des aventures qui attendent MEC au cours des 50 prochaines années.

Passionné par les gens, Eric a dirigé plusieurs importants détaillants au Canada et aux États-Unis. Il fait maintenant profiter MEC de sa connaissance approfondie du monde de la vente au détail et de sa vaste expérience à titre de PDG et de président et membre de conseils d’administration au sein d’entreprises publiques et privées.

Eric est un membre fidèle de MEC depuis 1984. Ancien coureur de longues distances, il consacre maintenant son temps libre à faire de la randonnée – dans les montagnes de l’Alaska et du Yukon, dans les jungles reculées du Pérou, ainsi que sur les sentiers de sa région, en Colombie-Britannique. Il pratique également le kitesurf, la plongée et le kayak de mer.

Jay Taylor

Jay Taylor

Président et chef des opérations

Jay possède diverses expériences dans le monde de l’équipement de plein air. Ayant commencé sa carrière dans le ski de compétition, il compte maintenant plus de 25 ans de travail au sein d’entreprises de détail, de distribution et de fabrication.

Il a été chef de produit chez Salomon et consultant auprès du président de Quiksilver, et il a géré deux boutiques de ski prospères à Whistler et à Vancouver jusqu’en 2010. Jay a également fondé une entreprise d’articles de sport (The Soze Group) et occupé la fonction de président de la marque mondiale des chaussures Hoka One One.

Il est devenu membre de MEC en 1988, lorsqu’il a déménagé à Vancouver pour étudier à UBC. Actuellement, s’il ne travaille pas à son bureau chez MEC, il fait du ski ou du vélo de montagne, de la course sur sentier ou du surf.

Peter Hlynsky

Peter Hlynsky

Chef des finances

Peter possède une vaste expérience comme dirigeant au sein d’industries diverses au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Australie et en Europe. Il fait bénéficier MEC de son expertise approfondie en assurant la stabilité financière tout en conservant la culture pour assurer le succès de l’entreprise à long terme. Comptable agréé, il a acquis une riche connaissance dans de nombreux domaines, notamment l’amélioration opérationnelle et les services transactionnels.

Peter est membre de MEC depuis 1995. Parmi ses aventures, notons le ski de haute route au Canada, la randonnée dans les Andes, le rafting sur l’Amazone, la plongée au large de Fidji, le surf en Californie et de nombreuses sorties en kayak dans la région de Desolation Sound et autour des îles Gulf. Ayant grandi sur la côte nord de Vancouver, Peter garde de bons souvenirs des années 90, quand il roulait sur son vélo de montagne sans suspensions avec un équipement de hockey en guise de protection (l’équipement a beaucoup évolué depuis). Aujourd’hui, il retrouve ses sentiers de montagne préférés qu’il fait découvrir à sa femme et à ses trois enfants.

Deb Paulsen

Deb Paulsen

Chef des ressources humaines

Deb est une professionnelle expérimentée qui a à cœur le bien-être des employé·e·s. Elle aime particulièrement faire évoluer les cultures organisationnelles et mener des projets qui incitent les employé·e·s à réaliser leur potentiel et à donner le meilleur d’eux et d’elles-mêmes.

Deb joue un rôle essentiel dans la promotion de la vision et de la culture des ressources humaines de MEC en élaborant des solutions intégrées de gestion des talents et en adaptant les programmes de ressources humaines de MEC à l’ensemble de l’entreprise. Elle a occupé des postes de direction chez Rocky Mountaineer et 3M, où elle a soutenu la croissance accélérée de l’organisation en plus de mettre en place des équipes performantes.

Membre de longue date de MEC, Deb aime pédaler (que ce soit sur les routes, les sentiers, ou sur son vélo de spinning), faire de la randonnée dans les montagnes du North Shore de Vancouver et passer le plus de temps possible à Whistler pour pratiquer une variété d’activités de plein air.

Catherine Lau

Catherine Lau

Avocate principale et secrétaire générale

Catherine dirige et supervise toutes les questions juridiques, de gouvernance, de confidentialité et d’immobilier de MEC. Elle compte plus de 14 ans d’expérience juridique qu’elle a acquise notamment dans son rôle d’avocate principale chez TELUS et comme associée chez Borden Ladner Gervais, LLP.

Elle siège actuellement au conseil de Royal Canadian Marine Search and Rescue ainsi qu’à celui de Women General Counsel of Canada, en plus de parrainer le comité de direction sur la diversité et l’inclusion de MEC. Par ailleurs, Catherine aime s’investir dans la communauté et fait du bénévolat auprès de divers groupes communautaires, dont le comité d’investissement communautaire TELUS de Victoria.

Dans ses temps libres, elle aime faire du vélo et du ski, et voyager avec sa famille. Elle a entre autres visité les ruines du Machu Picchu et fait de la plongée en apnée dans les Maldives et à la Grande barrière de corail.

Adam Ketcheson

Adam Ketcheson

Chef de produit

Adam chapeaute les équipes de marchandisage, du numérique et de la marque MEC. Avant de travailler pour Mountain Equipment Company, Adam occupait le poste de directeur marketing chez North, une jeune entreprise technologique canadienne (acquise par Google). Il a acquis une vaste expérience dans l’industrie du plein air et dirigé des équipes de marketing de marque et de vente pour Salomon, The North Face et Arc'teryx, des chefs de file mondiaux de l’industrie. De plus, il a siégé au conseil d’administration de la Conservation Alliance.

Adam est membre de MEC depuis 1994, et lorsqu’il ne travaille pas avec ses collègues pour développer ou trouver de nouveaux produits, il met les siens à l’épreuve en explorant l’arrière-pays en ski, en faisant du vélo de montagne et en courant sur les sentiers des montagnes du North Shore.

Sylvia McLoughlin

Sylvia McLoughlin

Vice-présidente de la vente au détail

Les magasins MEC sont le point de départ de nombreuses aventures, et le rôle de Sylvia est de s’assurer que votre expérience dans nos magasins est exceptionnelle. Elle favorise l’excellence du service aux membres et l’engagement des employé·e·s en soutenant et en améliorant les processus et les procédures des magasins.

Originaire d’Afrique du Sud, Sylvia a vécu en Irlande pendant 15 ans avant de s’installer au Canada. Comptant plus de 20 ans d’expérience dans le commerce de détail, elle a occupé de nombreux postes, dont ceux de contrôleuse régionale, de gestionnaire régionale et de directrice de magasin.

Sylvia est toujours volontaire pour une sortie de course sur sentier ou une journée de randonnée et d’escalade de bloc, mais c’est dans l’eau qu’elle est la plus heureuse, que ce soit en kayak ou sur un surf. Elle adore le fait de pouvoir vivre chaque jour son rêve tout en s’inspirant des aventures extraordinaires de nos employé·e·s.

Christian Gehres

Christian Gehres

Vice-président de la chaîne logistique et de la transformation des opérations

Christian est un leader transformationnel qui n’hésite pas à mettre la main à la pâte pour préparer la chaîne logistique de MEC pour l’avenir.

Détenant plus de 10 ans d’expérience dans plusieurs secteurs et marchés, Christian a dirigé de multiples processus de transformation et de croissance. Il possède une connaissance approfondie des opérations interfonctionnelles et de la gestion du changement, ainsi qu’une solide expérience dans le domaine des finances.

Christian a récemment déménagé au Canada. Il adore faire de la randonnée, du camping et de la planche à neige, et explorer les sentiers de montagne avec son chien Amy. Grand voyageur, il a effectué des ascensions dans l’Himalaya et est également moniteur certifié de planche à neige.

Michele Guimond

Michele Guimond

Vice-présidente du marketing

Michele dirige l’équipe chargée de faire connaître la marque MEC au monde entier. Gestionnaire dévouée, elle est connue pour sa capacité à développer une culture forte et bâtir des équipes solides. Elle est membre de MEC depuis longtemps et fait maintenant profiter l’entreprise de ses compétences variées en stratégie de marque et en gestion opérationnelles.

Avant de travailler chez MEC, Michele a mené des stratégies de marketing favorisant des périodes de croissance rapide pour des marques d’exception (notamment, Arc'teryx et Aritzia). En tant que leader, mais aussi créatrice dans l’âme, elle croit au pouvoir d’une bonne accroche narrative et à l’utilisation d’une créativité de haute qualité pour élever une marque.

L’un des aspects qu’elle préfère de son travail est le lien avec les activités de plein air pour lesquelles elle se passionne. Fervente adepte de ski de haute route, de vélo de montagne et de course sur sentier, elle profite de chaque occasion pour planifier des aventures en plein air.

Julia Freeman

Julia Freeman

Vice-présidente, stratégie numérique et commerce électronique

Julia dirige l’équipe de la stratégie numérique et du commerce électronique qui est responsable d’offrir aux consommateurs et consommatrices une expérience de vente omnicanal fluide. Passionnée de son travail et guidée par ses connaissances approfondies, elle crée des expériences de magasinage sans friction qui permettent de rencontrer les client·e·s là où ils·elles le souhaitent. De plus, elle sait concilier la stratégie globale d’une entreprise avec les besoins quotidiens en mobilisant les personnes autour de mesures concrètes.

Avant d’arriver chez MEC, Julia a aidé à stimuler la croissance du commerce électronique de marques comme Best Buy et Aritzia à l’aide d’une approche omnicanal, et a évolué dans un environnement B2B au sein de Hootsuite.

Membre de MEC depuis plus de 20 ans, Julia adore la marque et l’expérience de magasinage basée sur l’expertise, en magasin et en ligne. En dehors du travail, elle est une marathonienne en devenir qui passe beaucoup de temps à courir ou à faire du vélo le long du Seawall, et à jouer avec ses enfants dans les parcs de son quartier.

Erik Garrett

Erik Garrett

Vice-président des TI

Erik est un gestionnaire d’expérience du secteur des technologies, qui réalise son rêve professionnel en travaillant pour MEC, une marque qui l’a influencé depuis son plus jeune âge.

Depuis le début des années 2000, Erik bâtit sa carrière sur deux principes de base : apprendre et s’améliorer continuellement. Ayant travaillé dans de nombreux domaines, Erik apporte l’expérience nécessaire pour continuer à faire progresser la technologie de l’information de MEC de sorte qu’elle puisse s’adapter au monde du commerce de détail en constante évolution.

Comme il a grandi sur la côte ouest, Erik a été attiré par le plein air très jeune et attribue cette inspiration aux anciens catalogues imprimés de MEC. Maintenant installé sur la rive nord de Vancouver, Erik passe son temps à faire du vélo de montagne, de la randonnée, du camping et de la planche à neige.