Person holding 2 sleeping pads at a campsite

How to choose a sleeping pad

Just because you aren’t sleeping in a bed, that doesn’t mean you can’t be comfortable while camping. Sleeping pads (a.k.a. camping mattresses) provide extra padding and help insulate you from the cold, hard ground. They come in different types, shapes and sizes, and you can choose from brands like Therm-a-Rest, MEC, Exped and Big Agnes. But how do you know which camping mat is best for you?

Here are some things to consider when you’re choosing a sleeping pad:

  • Types of pads: There are foam pads, air mattresses, self-inflating pads and inflatable insulated pads – find out what one’s for you.
  • R-value: Learn how this measure of insulation connects to staying warm.
  • Features to look for: Depending on your sleep-style, type of camping or body shape, you may want to consider these options.

Sleeping Pad Types

There are four main types of sleeping pads to choose from: closed-cell foam pads, self-inflating sleeping pads, air mattresses and inflatable insulated sleeping pads. Choose the one that makes the most sense for your camping, backpacking, bike touring or other adventure plans:

Closed-cell foam sleeping pads

These simple mats are made of dense foam filled with tiny air pockets. They don’t compress so you need to roll or fold them when you carry them.

  • Pros: Inexpensive, lightweight and durable because you don’t have to worry about holes or leaks.
  • Cons: Bulky, don’t feel super-plush when you’re lying on them, and provide moderate insulation.
  • Best for: Backpackers on a budget, ultralight hikers, thru-hikers and anyone who prioritizes durability. Also make handy seats at camp since they won’t absorb moisture.


Self-inflating sleeping pads

Self-inflating sleeping pads use a layer of open-cell foam inside a fabric shell. When you open the valve, air rushes in, and gradually fills the spaces in the foam to inflate the pad. For an extra-firm pad, some people like to blow more air into the pad.

  • Pros: Moderately comfortable, provide good insulation, and less expensive than air-filled pads.
  • Cons: Less compact and heavier than air-filled pads, less durable than foam pads (but easy to repair and more durable than air pads).
  • Best for: Car campers or backpackers who want moderate comfort and durability but don’t want to spend too much.


Air mattresses

Air mattresses are a popular option for car camping. They use sealed chambers full of air to provide a comfy sleeping surface but they don’t have any insulation. You’ll need to bring a pump to inflate them at the campsite.

  • Pros: Comfortable, available in sizes that work with standard bedding, and you can customize the firmness by adding or removing air.
  • Cons: Bulky, heavy, provide low insulation (not ideal for cold weather), you need a pump.
  • Best for: Car camping in warm weather, since they don’t retain a lot of heat.


Inflatable insulated sleeping pads

These provide more insulation than simple air mattresses, since they also have insulating materials inside. The insulation can be a special reflective material, or it can be down or synthetic fill (similar to a sleeping bag). There are many different levels of insulation available, so you can choose an inflatable insulated sleeping pad that’s good for the temperature you’ll be camping in. You can inflate many of them with just your breath, but there are also pumps available.

  • Pros: Comfortable, pack down very small, lightweight, provide good insulation, and you can customize the firmness by adding or removing air.
  • Cons: Expensive, less durable (but easy to repair), and pads with reflective material can make a loud crinkly noise.
  • Best for: Car campers or backpackers who want a comfortable sleep; camping in cold weather.


Insulation and R-Value

Sleeping pads don’t just keep you comfortable, they also keep you warm. Even in summer, the ground is colder than the air. Using a sleeping pad can help keep you warm by insulating you from the damp dirt or chilly gravel beneath you.

The warmth of a sleeping pad is indicated by its R-value, which is a measure of a material’s resistance (R) to heat loss. Basically, the higher the R-value, the greater the warmth. You can see the R-value for each sleeping pad on mec.ca in the specs tab.

R-values range from 1 (minimal insulation) to 10 (very well insulated). Sleeping pads with an R-value of less than 3 are best for really warm weather. R-values of 3–4 are best for 3-season use. For winter camping, choose a sleeping pad with an R-value of 4.5 or higher.

“If you don’t want to buy a dedicated sleeping pad for winter camping, then bring your regular 3-season pad and purchase a closed-cell foam pad to layer underneath it. This adds extra insulation without being expensive.” – Taryn E., MEC Product Information Specialist

Features to look for

Once you know what type of sleeping pad you’d like, you can narrow down your choice by looking for certain sizes and shapes, thicknesses, packability potential, and even pumps:

Size and shape

The most common size for sleeping pads is 183 x 51cm (72 x 20in.), which is a good size for most adults. But since not everyone is the same, sleeping pads can come in many other shapes and sizes to suit different camping styles and body types:

  • Mummy-shaped: Unlike rectangular pads, these taper toward the feet to save space and weight. Best for weight-conscious backpackers.
  • Shorter length: Best for kids, shorter adults or people who want to save weight and space by using extra gear (such as a backpack or climbing rope) under their feet. Typically 119–150cm long.
  • Extra-long: A solid option for tall sleepers who don’t want their feet hanging off the end. Typically 190+cm long.
  • Extra-wide: Great for people who toss and turn or like a bit more room. Typically 63+cm wide.
  • 2-person: Lighter and more compact than a pair of pads pushed together (and no cold gap in between!). Best for couples.
  • Women’s-specific: Slightly shorter in length than standard pads and with more insulation in the core and feet where women feel the cold most. Best for people who sleep cold.

Thickness

The MEC Reactor 6.5 sleeping pad gives 6.5cm of cushiness – great for side sleepers.

Pads come in a wide variety of thicknesses, between a streamlined 1.5cm and the ultra-plush 11cm. Thicker pads offer more comfort and cushiness, but they are heavier and bulkier. Side sleepers and comfort-seekers should choose a pad that’s at least 4cm thick.

Weight and packed size

Backpacker carrying a closed-cell foam sleeping pad

Closed-cell foam pads aren’t at risk of punctures if you carry them outside your backpack.

If you’re car camping, you probably have lots of room in your trunk for bulky, heavy and super-comfy sleeping pads. But if you’re backpacking, paddling or bike touring, you definitely need to keep weight and packed size in mind when you choose a sleeping pad. You can save weight by choosing a shorter length or mummy style pad. As well, inflatable insulated pads are often available in ultralight options.

Check the packed dimensions of the sleeping pad and make sure you can roll or fold it into a shape that fits inside your backpack or pannier. You can safely carry closed-cell foam pads on the outside of your pack, but self-inflating and inflatable pads should go inside your bag to protect them from punctures.

Pumps for sleeping pads

Large pads can take a long time to blow up if you’re just using your breath. And although it’s unusual, moisture from your breath can cause mould or ice to build-up inside your pad. If you’re worried about this, you may want to pack a pump. There are lots of options to choose from, including lightweight battery-operated pumps, hand pumps and stuff sacks that double as a pump. Some pads even have an integrated pump built in.

Sleeping pad care and repair

After your trip, wipe down the pad with a damp cloth and mild soap. Let it air dry fully before putting it away and store it unrolled with the valve open.

How to store your sleeping pad

Repair

If your sleeping pad has a pinhole, a tear or the valve leaks, you can use the repair kit that came with it to patch the surface or replace the valve.

How to repair your sleeping pad

Person holding 2 sleeping pads at a campsite

Comment choisir un matelas de sol

En camping, le fait de ne pas dormir dans un lit ne doit pas nécessairement rimer avec inconfort. Les matelas de sol (ou matelas de camping) augmentent le confort et servent d’isolant contre le sol froid et dur. Il existe divers types de matelas, de différentes dimensions et formes, offerts par différentes marques comme Therm-a-Rest, MEC, Exped et Big Agnes. Mais comment savoir lequel convient le mieux à vos besoins ?

Voici les éléments à considérer lorsque vient le temps de magasiner :

  • Types de matelas : Les matelas de sol peuvent être en mousse, gonflables, autogonflables ou gonflables et isolés. Découvrez lequel vous convient.
  • Valeur R : Voyez en quoi cette valeur d’isolation est liée à la préservation de la chaleur.
  • Caractéristiques à considérer : Selon le type de dormeur que vous êtes, le type de camping que vous pratiquez ou la forme de votre corps, ces options sont importantes.

Types de matelas de sol

Il existe quatre principaux types de matelas de sol : en mousse à alvéoles fermées, gonflables, gonflables et isolés et autogonflables. Choisissez celui qui semble le plus approprié selon vos plans, que ce soit du camping, de la randonnée, du cyclotourisme ou toute autre aventure.

Foam sleeping pad

Matelas de sol en mousse à alvéoles fermées

Ces matelas simples sont faits de mousse dense truffée de petites pochettes d’air. Étant donné qu’ils ne sont pas compressibles, vous devez les rouler ou les plier pour les transporter.

  • Avantages : Abordables, légers et durables parce qu’ils ne risquent pas de perforer.
  • Inconvénients : Encombrants, pas très douillets et isolation modérée.
  • Parfaits pour : Les randonneurs soucieux de leur budget ou du poids qu’ils transportent (ou les deux) et quiconque priorise la durabilité. N’absorbant pas l’humidité, ils font aussi d’excellents sièges de camp.


Inflatable sleeping pad

Matelas de sol autogonflables

Les matelas de sol autogonflables comportent une couche de mousse à alvéoles ouvertes. Quand vous ouvrez la valve, l’air s’introduit et remplit graduellement les espaces dans la mousse, ce qui fait gonfler le matelas. Pour plus de fermeté, certains finissent de le gonfler en soufflant avec leur bouche.

  • Avantages : Assez confortables, bonne isolation et moins dispendieux que les matelas gonflables.
  • Inconvénients : Moins compacts et plus lourds que les matelas gonflables, moins durables que les matelas en mousse (mais faciles à réparer et plus durables que les modèles gonflables).
  • Parfaits pour : Les campeurs en voiture ou les randonneurs qui veulent un confort et une durabilité acceptables sans trop investir.


Air mattress for camping

Matelas de sol gonflables

Les matelas gonflables sont un choix populaire pour le camping en voiture. Ils sont faits de cloisons scellées remplies d’air qui forment une surface confortable pour dormir, mais ils ne comportent pas d’isolant. Vous devez apporter une pompe pour les gonfler.

  • Avantages : Confortables, formats compatibles avec la plupart des sacs de couchage et couvertures, fermeté ajustable (selon l’air qu’on ajoute ou enlève).
  • Inconvénients : Volumineux, lourds et peu isolant (peu recommandés par temps froid). Nécessitent une pompe.

Parfaits pour : Le camping en voiture par temps chaud puisqu’ils retiennent peu l’air chaud.


MEC Reactor 6.5 sleeping pad

Matelas de sol gonflables et isolés

Ces modèles protègent mieux du froid que les simples matelas gonflables en raison de leur isolant. L’isolant peut être fait d’un matériau spécial réfléchissant, de duvet ou de matériaux synthétiques (comme pour les sacs de couchage). Les matelas de cette catégorie présentent différents degrés d’isolation. Vous pouvez donc choisir le vôtre en fonction de la température prévue pour votre sortie en camping. La plupart sont gonflables par la bouche, mais vous pouvez aussi utiliser une pompe.

  • Avantages : Confortables, très compacts pour le transport, légers, isolants et fermeté ajustable ajustable (selon l’air qu’on ajoute ou enlève).
  • Inconvénients: Dispendieux, durabilité limitée (mais faciles à réparer) et bruit fort de froissement pour les modèles faits de matériaux réfléchissants.

Parfaits pour : Le camping en voiture, les randonneurs qui aiment le confort ou le camping par temps froid.


Isolation et valeur R

En plus d’augmenter votre confort, les matelas de sol contribuent à vous garder au chaud. Même l’été, le sol est plus froid que l’air ambiant. En utilisant un matelas de sol, vous créez une barrière isolante entre vous et l’humidité du sol.

La chaleur d’un matelas de sol est indiquée par la valeur R, soit la résistance (R) d’un matériau à la perte de chaleur. En gros, plus la valeur R est élevée, plus le matelas est chaud. Sur mec.ca, vous pouvez voir la valeur R de chaque matelas de sol dans la section Caractéristiques techniques, sur la page du produit.

Les valeurs R sont réparties sur une échelle de 1 (isolation minimale) à 10 (isolation maximale). Les matelas de sol ayant une valeur R de moins de 3 conviennent aux températures très chaudes. Une valeur R de 3 ou 4 convient à une utilisation trois saisons. Pour le camping d’hiver, utilisez un matelas de sol ayant une valeur R de 4,5 ou plus.

« Si vous ne voulez pas acheter un matelas de sol uniquement pour le camping d’hiver, utilisez votre matelas trois saisons et combinez-le à un matelas en mousse à alvéoles fermées que vous placerez en dessous. Vous obtiendrez ainsi une isolation supplémentaire à bon prix. » – Taryn E., spécialiste de l’information sur les produits chez MEC

Caractéristiques à considérer

Une fois que vous avez déterminé de quel type de matelas de sol vous avez besoin, vous pouvez encore orienter votre choix en fonction de la dimension, de la forme, de l’épaisseur, de la compressibilité et même de la pompe.

Dimension et forme

Les dimensions les plus courantes pour un matelas de sol sont 183 cm x 51 cm (72 po x 20 po), ce qui convient très bien à la plupart des adultes. Mais puisque chacun est différent, les matelas de sol sont offerts en d’autres formes et dimensions pour convenir à des styles de camping et à des gabarits différents.

  • Matelas de sol de forme momie : Contrairement aux matelas de forme rectangulaire, ces modèles sont plus étroits vers l’extrémité aux pieds, ce qui réduit leur poids et leur volume. Ils sont idéals pour les randonneurs qui voyagent légers.
  • Modèles courts : Idéals pour les enfants, les adultes de petite taille ou les personnes qui veulent réduire le poids et le volume de leur sac (ceux-ci placent une pièce d’équipement, comme un sac à dos ou une corde d’escalade, sous leurs pieds pour combler l’espace manquant). Généralement de 119 à 150 cm de long.
  • Modèles très longs : Un très bon choix pour les personnes de grande taille qui n’aiment pas que leurs pieds sortent du matelas. Généralement plus de 190 cm de long.
  • Modèles très larges : Parfaits pour les personnes qui bougent beaucoup dans leur sommeil ou qui aiment avoir amplement d’espace. Généralement plus de 63 cm de largeur.
  • Matelas pour deux personnes : Plus légers et plus compacts que deux matelas collés ensemble (et sans espace qui laisse passer l’air froid entre les deux). Idéals pour les couples.
  • Matelas pour femmes : Légèrement plus courts que les matelas standards et comportant plus d’isolant au niveau du tronc et des pieds, où les femmes ont souvent plus froid. Parfaits pour les personnes frileuses.

Épaisseur

Person sleeping on their side on a camping trip

Le matelas de sol Reactor 6.5 de MEC offre 6,5 cm de confort – un bon choix pour les personnes qui dorment sur le côté.

Les matelas de sol sont offerts dans une variété d’épaisseurs, d’un mince 1,5 cm à un confortable 11 cm. Les matelas épais sont plus confortables, mais ils sont aussi plus lourds et plus volumineux. Les personnes qui dorment sur le côté et ceux qui cherchent le confort doivent choisir un matelas d’au moins 4 cm d’épaisseur.

Poids et format une fois rangé

Backpacker carrying a closed-cell foam sleeping pad

Les matelas en mousse à alvéoles fermées ne risquent pas d’être perforés même si vous les attachez à votre sac à dos.

Si vous faites du camping en voiture, vous avez sans doute de l’espace pour des matelas volumineux qui offrent un maximum de confort. Mais si vous faites de la randonnée ou du cyclotourisme, vous devez absolument penser au poids et au volume lorsque vous magasinez un modèle. Vous pouvez réduire le poids en optant pour un modèle court ou momie. De plus, les matelas de sol gonflables et isolés sont souvent offerts en version ultralégère.

Vérifiez les dimensions une fois qu’il est roulé ou plié et assurez-vous qu’il puisse entrer dans votre sac ou votre sacoche. Vous pouvez transporter un matelas en mousse à alvéoles fermées à l’extérieur de votre sac à dos, mais les matelas de sol autogonflables et gonflables devraient être à l’intérieur pour éviter les perforations.

Pompes pour matelas de sol

Gonfler un matelas de grande dimension avec la bouche peut s’avérer fastidieux. De plus, même si c’est rare, l’humidité de votre souffle peut causer la formation de moisissure ou de glace à l’intérieur de votre matelas. Si cela vous inquiète, nous vous suggérons d’apporter une pompe. Il en existe de nombreux modèles, y compris des pompes légères qui fonctionnent à piles, des pompes à main ou des sacs-pompe. Certains matelas sont même dotés d’une pompe intégrée.

Entretien et réparation de votre matelas de sol

Après votre voyage, essuyez votre matelas de sol avec un chiffon humide et du savon doux. Laissez-le sécher complètement à l’air libre avant de le ranger. Lorsque le matelas est sec, évitez de le plier pour le ranger et laissez la valve ouverte.

L’art de ranger son matelas de sol

Réparation

Si votre matelas de sol est percé ou déchiré ou si la valve fuit, vous pouvez utiliser la trousse de réparation fournie avec le matelas pour colmater le trou ou la déchirure ou remplacer la valve.

L’art de réparer un matelas de sol