Three people on a day hike

Day hiking for beginners

When it comes to getting outside, nothing beats a hiking daytrip. Walking along forested trails or setting out to see a nearby waterfall doesn’t need to be a major undertaking, but to beginner hikers, it might appear deceptively simple (especially with all the hiking pics shared online).

Some hikes can be as easy as putting one foot in front of the other and following a well-marked trail. But other hikes involve a lot more navigation skills and challenging terrain. Before you set out for a day hike, here’s how to start:

  • Choose your hiking buddies
  • Do some pre-trip planning
  • Bring the hiking essentials
  • Learn more hiking skills

Choose your hiking buddies

Three hikers posing for a photo on a rock

If you’re new to hiking, the best way to start is to find other experienced hikers you can join. Check with any hiking friends or family members if you can set out on a beginner-friendly trail with them, or search for local hiking groups or clubs in your area.

If you’re thinking of joining a group on a hike, take a look at the route they have planned to make sure it matches your fitness and experience level. Not sure if it’s right for you? Reach out to the hike organizer to ask questions before you show up at the trailhead.

Do some pre-trip planning

If you’re a beginner hiker, choose a route that’s right for your level of fitness and outdoor experience. A short out-and-back route not far from home can be a great option. Elevation, the time of year, and the length of the hike are all things to consider.

Know the trail before you go

The biggest challenge for any hiker can be making the correct turns at each trail junction and keeping your bearing. Carefully examine a topographic map or guidebook before you set off. You should familiarize yourself with where your route goes, and try to anticipate the conditions you’ll find. For example, in spring, many trails will be muddy or possibly snow-covered. By late summer, water sources may have dried up. Pay attention to things like stream crossings, elevation changes, and other trails that intersect your route.

Share this information with each person in your party, so that everyone has an idea of landmarks in the surrounding terrain. And when you’re on the trail, look behind you after you pass key landmarks or intersections so you know what to look for on your return route home.

Estimate how long a hike will take

The amount of time a hiking route takes depends on a few main factors:

  • Total distance
  • Elevation gain
  • Type of terrain
  • Fitness level and size of your group

On flat ground, a hiking speed of 4–6km per hour is average to speedy. For every 300m of elevation gain, add an extra half-hour. Hiking times will vary a lot depending on the terrain. Smooth, dry trails are easier going (and faster) than rough, wet trails, or ones that involve loose rock or bits of bush. A trail with many ups and downs will not only slow you down but also make you more tired.

“For longer hikes, water bladders are more convenient to hydrate frequently, rather than stopping to pull out your water bottle.” – MEC staffer Brittany M.

Group of hikers looking at a trail sign

The number of people in your group and the fitness level of each person are also important things to think about when estimating time. Be prepared to move at the speed of your slowest member and to turn back if necessary. Don’t forget to build in time for lunch and bathroom breaks.

The easiest way to increase the amount of daylight hiking hours is to start early in the morning. If in doubt, be conservative and choose destinations that are closer to a half day than a full day for your first few trips.

Before you go

Check the trail conditions and weather forecast in advance, as well as the morning of your hike. You might need to adjust your plans or what you bring as a result. Know that mountain weather can change rapidly and without warning.

Always tell someone you trust where you’re going and when to expect you back. Leave a note or a trip planning form that explains exactly where you are going, the names of the people in your group, and your intended route (both to and from). Remember to contact this person when you’re done – many search and rescue operations have been launched for people who were never actually lost.

Finally, check out these 7 tips for hiking responsibly so you can leave the trail as wild as when you started.

What to wear and bring hiking

Hiking boots near the edge of a cliff

Part of what makes hiking such an easy way to enjoy the outdoors is that you don’t need a ton of gear to get into it.

  • Start with a comfortable backpack. For day hikes, a 20–30L pack is usually the right size for what you need to carry.
  • Bring the 10 essentials for hiking, even if you’re only planning a short day hike. The purpose of the 10 essentials is to help you deal with an accident or emergency, which could happen on any trail.
  • Wear sturdy footwear (leave the flip-flops at home). For flat, smooth trails and dry conditions, a pair of trail running shoes can do the trick if you don’t have hiking footwear. If you’re tackling more technical routes, longer trails or rough weather, hiking shoes or hiking boots help support your ankles and your feet.
  • Ditch the cotton socks. Blisters can ruin a day hike – wear synthetic or wool/wool-blend hiking socks to keep your feet dry and happy.
  • Wear quick-drying layers. You’ll heat up on the uphills and cool down when you stop for lunch, so layers are key. Learn about what to look for in clothing layers, and always bring extra clothing as part of your 10 essentials.

“Bring a bandana that you can dip in streams or lakes and wrap around your neck for some instant cooling in hot weather.” – MEC staffer Kim B.

Learn more hiking skills

Want to know how to use a compass? Baffled by your GPS? Not sure what hiking boots to buy? Sign up for a hiking clinics at MEC stores to learn from friendly, experienced staff who are ready to answer your questions.

Three people on a day hike

Courte randonnée pour débutants

Lorsqu’il est question de passer du temps en plein air, rien ne vaut une journée de randonnée. Marcher le long de sentiers forestiers ou aller admirer une cascade dans les environs peut paraître un peu simpliste aux yeux des débutants (surtout si on regarde toutes ces images partagées en ligne), mais la randonnée n’a pas besoin d’être un projet de grande envergure.

Pour certaines randos, il suffit de mettre un pied devant l’autre et de suivre le sentier parfaitement balisé, alors que d’autres sont plus difficiles et exigent des compétences en orientation. Avant de vous lancer pour la journée, voici par où vous devez commencer :

  • Choisissez vos partenaires de randonnée
  • Planifiez votre journée
  • Apportez les essentiels
  • Acquérez de nouvelles connaissances

Choisissez vos partenaires de randonnée

Three hikers posing for a photo on a rock

Si vous n’avez jamais fait de randonnée, l’idéal c’est de commencer avec des personnes qui ont de l’expérience. Demandez à un ami ou un membre de votre famille qui pratique la randonnée s’il accepterait de vous accompagner sur un sentier facile. Vous pouvez aussi vous joindre à un groupe ou à un club de randonnée de votre région.

Si vous envisagez de joindre un groupe, examinez le sentier prévu pour vous assurer qu’il convient à votre niveau de forme physique. Vous n’êtes pas certain ? Communiquez avec l’organisateur de la randonnée pour lui poser des questions avant de vous présenter au point de rencontre.

Planifiez votre journée

Si vous êtes débutant, choisissez un sentier qui convient à votre niveau de forme physique et d’expérience en plein air. Un trajet aller-retour à proximité de la maison s’avère un bon choix. Tenez aussi compte du dénivelé, de la saison et de la durée de la randonnée.

Examinez le sentier avant de partir

Le plus grand défi pour n’importe quel randonneur c’est de faire le bon choix aux jonctions des sentiers et de savoir s’orienter. Avant de partir, prenez soin d’examiner une carte et de consulter un guide pour vous familiariser avec le trajet que vous avez choisi. Essayez d’anticiper les conditions des sentiers que vous emprunterez. Par exemple, au printemps, de nombreux sentiers sont recouverts de boue ou de neige. Vers la fin de l’été, il arrive que des sources d’eau soient à sec. Vous devriez toujours être attentif aux détails comme les traverses de cours d’eau, les dénivelés, ainsi que les sentiers qui croisent le vôtre.

Partagez ces renseignements avec les membres de votre groupe afin que chacun sache où se trouvent les points de repère de la région. Lorsque vous êtes sur le sentier, regardez derrière vous quand vous passez un point de repère ou une intersection pour savoir quoi repérer sur le chemin du retour.

Estimez la durée d’une randonnée

Le temps nécessaire pour effectuer un parcours donné dépend de quatre principaux facteurs :

  • la distance totale
  • le dénivelé
  • le type de terrain
  • le niveau de forme physique et la taille du groupe

Sur un terrain plat, une vitesse de marche rythmée varie entre 4 et 6 km/heure. Ajoutez une demi-heure pour chaque gain d’élévation de 300 mètres. Le temps de déplacement varie considérablement selon la difficulté du terrain. Il est beaucoup plus facile (et rapide) de progresser sur un terrain sec et peu accidenté que de marcher dans un sentier partiellement couvert de roches ou d’arbustes. Un sentier qui monte et qui descend régulièrement va non seulement vous ralentir, mais aussi vous fatiguer davantage.

« Lors des randonnées exigeantes, les sacs-gourdes sont plus pratiques pour s’hydrater que les bouteilles, qui nous obligent à nous arrêter pour la prendre dans notre sac. » – Brittany M., employée MEC

Group of hikers looking at a trail sign

Le nombre de personnes qui vous accompagnent et la condition physique de chacune d’elles sont d’autres facteurs importants à considérer dans l’évaluation du temps que vous allez prendre pour effectuer la randonnée. Soyez prêt à vous déplacer au rythme de la personne la plus lente de votre groupe et à rebrousser chemin, si nécessaire. N’oubliez pas de tenir compte du temps pour manger et aller à la toilette.

La façon la plus simple de maximiser le nombre d’heures de marche à la lumière du jour est de vous lever le plus tôt possible. En cas de doute, soyez conservateurs et optez pour des excursions d’une demi-journée lors de vos premières sorties.

Avant de partir

Vérifiez les conditions des sentiers et les prévisions météorologiques à l’avance, puis vérifiez à nouveau le matin de votre sortie. Il est possible que vous deviez ajuster vos plans ou votre équipement en conséquence. Sachez qu’en montagne, les conditions météo peuvent changer rapidement et sans avertissement.

Dites toujours à une personne de confiance où vous allez et quand vous pensez être de retour. Laissez-lui une note ou un plan de route détaillé qui indique votre itinéraire et le nom des personnes qui vous accompagnent. Et n’oubliez pas de l’avertir lorsque vous êtes revenus à la maison – de nombreuses opérations de recherche ont été lancées inutilement.

Par ailleurs, apprenez les 7 façons responsables de faire de la rando afin de laisser les sentiers aussi sauvages que vous les avez trouvés.

Quoi porter et apporter en randonnée

Hiking boots near the edge of a cliff

Le peu d’équipement nécessaire dont vous avez besoin pour pratiquer la randonnée est l’un des aspects qui en font une activité de plein air aussi accessible.

  • Commencez par vous procurer un sac à dos confortable. Pour les randonnées d’une journée, un sac de 20 l à 30 l convient généralement à vos besoins.
  • Apportez aussi les 10 essentiels pour la randonnée, même si vous ne partez pas longtemps. Le but des 10 essentiels est de vous aider à faire face à un accident ou à une situation d’urgence qui pourraient arriver sur les sentiers.
  • Portez des chaussures robustes (laissez les gougounes à la maison). Pour les sentiers plats, secs et peu accidentés, une paire de chaussures de course sur sentier fera l’affaire si vous n’avez pas de chaussures de randonnée. Si le parcours est technique, long ou si les conditions météorologiques sont difficiles, les chaussures ou les bottes spécialement conçues pour la randonnée soutiendront mieux vos chevilles et vos pieds.
  • Oubliez les chaussettes en coton. Les ampoules peuvent ruiner une journée de randonnée – portez des chaussettes en fibres synthétiques ou en laine (ou mélange à base de laine) pour garder vos pieds au sec.
  • Portez des vêtements qui sèchent rapidement. Comme votre corps se réchauffera durant les montées et se refroidira durant la pause de lunch, il est essentiel de vous porter plusieurs couches. Découvrez l’art du multicouche, et apportez toujours des vêtements de rechange – cela fait d’ailleurs partie des 10 essentiels.

« Par temps très chaud, apportez un bandeau que vous mouillerez dans un ruisseau ou un lac et que vous attacherez autour de votre cou pour vous rafraîchir instantanément. » – Kim B., employée MEC

Acquérez de nouvelles connaissances

Vous voulez apprendre à manipuler une boussole ? Votre GPS vous laisse perplexe ? Vous ne savez pas quel modèle de bottes de rando choisir ? Inscrivez-vous à un atelier de randonnée dans l’un des magasins MEC pour faire le plein de conseils auprès de nos experts qui sauront répondre à vos questions.